We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pretty decent for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty decent for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight while on my way to Lake Tahoe. I bid on this hotel through Priceline and got a very good deal ($52). My expectation was pretty low because of the price but was pleasantly surprised. Everything was pretty decent. The front entrance looked a little run-down but once you got passed the elevators things started to look a lot better. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom looked like it could use some updating and the tub was a little discolored but nothing that the average person would find intolerable. The free breakfast buffet was very nice. The pancake maker was the best part! Oh, and the breakfast attendant was very friendly and helpful All in all, it definitely served its purpose plus a little extra. I would recommend this hotel to someone looking for a nice place to stay in Sacramento on a limited budget. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed the room and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    84
    46
    22
    17
See reviews for
31
42
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stay at Holiday Inn frequently as I travel for business often. Holiday Inn has become my favorite chain as I can always count on their staff to be courteous and professional, and the facility clean and up to date.
Unfortunately this Holiday Inn Express is none of those things. I left this hotel disappointed with the cleanliness and disrepair only to find my truck had been broken in to!
I reported this to staff, and received no response! Not a call back from staff, the general manager or anybody!
I hope Holiday Inn sees the light soon and removes their good name from this horribly mismanaged independently owned motel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjhorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are truly sorry that your truck was broken in-to while staying at our hotel, this isn’t the normal for this property. Unfortunately there are bad people out there that target parking lots in general looking for opportunity, this is something that we have no control over. I know that my guest service manager did contact you to take the report of incident and did apologize several times for this happening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not the standard I've seen with Holiday Inn Express. This hotel feels old. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms need a make over. The fan on the HVAC is so loud, they had to move our room. The second room wasn't much better. We had to suffer the sound or be cold. The carpet looks like it belongs in a circus and it's not spotlessly clean. The neighborhood is terrible, many derelict people a block away asking for handouts. The positives are free wi-fi, free parking and a hot breakfast, but it's not worth it to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Get a room someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, all feedback is helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had wonderful service/room/breakfast at this hotel.

My husband loved the full hot breakfast. I'm not a breakfast person and would have loved an apple and maybe some peanut butter to eat on some toast.

The breakfast lady was just a peach, and at the end of our stay my husband gave her a very nice tip, and I wish all guests would do that.

The only negative was that it has only one elevator which is old and a bit creaky and slow. They need to add a more modern second one,

Loved this place!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay and hope you all will too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are very happy that you loved our hotel as many do. We hope to see you again next Christmas. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I really hate giving a hotel a bad review, I myself work at a hotel and I know how devastating it can be but this place deserves it. The front desk staff were pleasant and apologetic but the rooms were disgraceful. A 1/4 inch of dust under the glass top dresser, urine and pubic hair sprinkled on the toilet. The rooms were bad enough on their own however when you throw in loud drunks screaming at1am when we had to get up at 2:45am, a broken ice machine, and a very seedy location in together it makes for one unsatisfied guest. I will never stay at another holiday inn express..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. Our rooms are not disgraceful and the cleanliness of the rooms are not what you described. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is on the borderline of downtown Sacramento in a neighborhood area. What I liked about this hotel is that the staff go out of their way to please. They are helpful, allow early check-in and late check out, accommodate your every need and go out of their way to please.
They are friendly and professional. I found my room to be very nice size, very clean and with no offensive odors. It was quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. The housekeeping did a good job of cleaning and restocking every day and it felt like home. The fitness center was small but the equipment was new and in good condition. There were fresh towels and bottled water stocked always inside. The breakfast was very good, with a good mixture of protein and carbohydrates, yogurt, eggs, cereal, pancakes, juices, milk, etc. Something for everyone! I only wished for more fruit since they only had bananas.
The walk around the downtown area is all very close with many choices for restaurants, Starbucks, fast-food, etc all within walking distance. Being solo, I felt very safe in this hotel and they do a good job of safety with their card system and gates around the property.
My only "complaint" was that the mini refrigerator in my room was way too cold with no way to turn it down and it froze all my food. When I mentioned it to the front desk on my way out, they didn't apologize or seem too concerned or act like they were going to fix it for the next guest. I will definitely return to this property when I return to the Sacramento area which is often.

Room Tip: Top floor if you don't want to hear the people above you, plus the view is pretty. Stay away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blesdx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Great review and much appreciated. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

the staff were wonderful from the front desk to the ladies that served a wonderful breakfest the room was great....and if it wasnt raining i could tell it was a nice place to take a walk and enjoy the sites of sac. it was a quick trip...had to take the train. It was worth staying at this hotel and pay the 10 dollar taxi fare...then staying at the tacky hotel near the train station

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the positive review and I agree, we have a wonderful staff. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#41 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#35 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Address: 728 16th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento s Best Value . We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capital, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic 'Old Town Sacramento', Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, on-demand pay movies and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome and we re a 100% non-smoking, AAA approved hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing