We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas with our son in Sacramento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had wonderful service/room/breakfast at this hotel.

My husband loved the full hot breakfast. I'm not a breakfast person and would have loved an apple and maybe some peanut butter to eat on some toast.

The breakfast lady was just a peach, and at the end of our stay my husband gave her a very nice tip, and I wish all guests would do that.

The only negative was that it has only one elevator which is old and a bit creaky and slow. They need to add a more modern second one,

Loved this place!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay and hope you all will too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We are very happy that you loved our hotel as many do. We hope to see you again next Christmas. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 275 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I really hate giving a hotel a bad review, I myself work at a hotel and I know how devastating it can be but this place deserves it. The front desk staff were pleasant and apologetic but the rooms were disgraceful. A 1/4 inch of dust under the glass top dresser, urine and pubic hair sprinkled on the toilet. The rooms were bad enough on their own however when you throw in loud drunks screaming at1am when we had to get up at 2:45am, a broken ice machine, and a very seedy location in together it makes for one unsatisfied guest. I will never stay at another holiday inn express..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadow138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. Our rooms are not disgraceful and the cleanliness of the rooms are not what you described. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay and look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is on the borderline of downtown Sacramento in a neighborhood area. What I liked about this hotel is that the staff go out of their way to please. They are helpful, allow early check-in and late check out, accommodate your every need and go out of their way to please.
They are friendly and professional. I found my room to be very nice size, very clean and with no offensive odors. It was quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. The housekeeping did a good job of cleaning and restocking every day and it felt like home. The fitness center was small but the equipment was new and in good condition. There were fresh towels and bottled water stocked always inside. The breakfast was very good, with a good mixture of protein and carbohydrates, yogurt, eggs, cereal, pancakes, juices, milk, etc. Something for everyone! I only wished for more fruit since they only had bananas.
The walk around the downtown area is all very close with many choices for restaurants, Starbucks, fast-food, etc all within walking distance. Being solo, I felt very safe in this hotel and they do a good job of safety with their card system and gates around the property.
My only "complaint" was that the mini refrigerator in my room was way too cold with no way to turn it down and it froze all my food. When I mentioned it to the front desk on my way out, they didn't apologize or seem too concerned or act like they were going to fix it for the next guest. I will definitely return to this property when I return to the Sacramento area which is often.

Room Tip: Top floor if you don't want to hear the people above you, plus the view is pretty. Stay away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blesdx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Great review and much appreciated. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

the staff were wonderful from the front desk to the ladies that served a wonderful breakfest the room was great....and if it wasnt raining i could tell it was a nice place to take a walk and enjoy the sites of sac. it was a quick trip...had to take the train. It was worth staying at this hotel and pay the 10 dollar taxi fare...then staying at the tacky hotel near the train station

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for the positive review and I agree, we have a wonderful staff. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've never had to write a review like this. Firstly the rate at which it was booked was preposterous at 132usd. It's worth 50 max. I have stayed in many many holiday inn expresses and the all are simple yet clean. This is the exception.

The staff although courteous were informal. The check in was fine where priority membership perks although appreciated were handed over the counter... Guys it's a nice gesture but travelers tend to have their hands full and the room s already allocated... Put it in there!

Reception is fine, but on exiting the 3rd floor a musty smell is evident. No matter, the room may be ok I think to myself. No. The room is worse, it positively stinks of a musty scent with a hint of urine near the door. The roach scuttling out under the door was reminiscent of 5usd hostels in Asia.

I spent 5 minutes debating staying. And left. My decision was fortified sharing the lift with a kart load of trash and its lovely essence.

In fairness the staff refunded quickly and didn't really seem surprised I was leaving.

To out this in context I do backpack and in have stayed in better hostels in for 5usd. Seriously. The smell actually reminded me of a very specific hostel in thailand. This does not warrant the holiday inn name.

I marked average for sleep quality. I didn't sleep there but the beds seemed nice enough. If you can get over the scent you'd probably sleep ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulo82UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

We are sorry you decided to leave so quickly after arriving. We did investigate your complaints about odor and bugs and found no supporting evidence. The guests that stayed in that room the same day after you left were completely satisfied with their entire stay. We found after surveying Priority Club members that most of them preferred the personal touch of receiving the welcome gift during the check-in process. We hope you were able to find accommodations that you were happy with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I really would like to leave a better score, as the hotel staff was helpful during our stay; however, I simply cannot. I'm a frequent Holiday Inn customer, and my baseline expectation for each stay is simply to have a clean and fresh room. Although cleanliness was not an issue, the musty odor throughout the hotel was a bit much. Upon check out, my wife and I noticed that all of our clothes (especially the jackets, which were left out of our bags overnight) strongly smelled of must. The odor was noticeable throughout the day in the car, and the jackets had to be dry cleaned. Although this hotel has been updated in accordance with the new HI Express requirements, their "refresh" seems to be merely a coverup. Once you exit the lobby area (which is nice) the age of the building really shows; getting rid of the age old may actually require new furniture upholstery and carpets, because the odor is just unacceptable!
On a separate note, it bothers me when non-smoking hotels fail to enforce the smoking policy. I realize you can't blame the hotel entirely for what other customers do, but the night manager has a degree of culpability for what happens inside the hotel during their shift. While looking for a soda machine, I walked two separate floors of the hotel on which I was overcome with the smell of smoke. C'mon management; you guys have to be aware people are smoking in your hotel - it's your job to enforce the policy (cigarettes or otherwise) - don't subject your customers or their children to an unhealthy environment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advisor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we value all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Express on G and 16th in Sacramento to attend a special event in the area. Since we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Hanover, Maryland two weeks ago visiting family, we couldn't resist comparing the two properties. Same brand should be similar quality and features? We stayed in room 4019. Nice view from there, of G Street, with the big trees.

We were comfortable at the Sacramento facility, noting that the property was dated (popcorn ceilings, beat-up elevators, non-current flooring, etc.) and it seemed a little long in the tooth but we don't have any major complaints. One of the things we always appreciate are interior corridors and elevators.

The hotel does not have a pool (guests can use the one next door at the Clarion) but it has a fitness center. It does have the standard HIE amenities such as the continental breakfast, with yogurt and cereal and hard-boiled eggs and bagels/toast/muffins, as well as the pancake-making machine. It was identical to the set up we found in Hanover, MD recently, except the staff wasn't keeping the eggs/bacon/biscuit/gravy (warm food) supply up to date. Had to come back later in the morning twice, to get some eggs. We liked the seating in the breakfast area. Very pleasant and bright and roomy.

Our King bed was comfortable, as were the *soft and firm* pillows. They are labeled. What we didn't like about the sleep was that there was a lock-off to next door and there was a very loud family next door which woke us up at 5:30am. We didn't blame the family as tiny children make lots of noise. The insulation was bad though. Not much sleep that night. We could hear every word.

Our bath area (counter-space) was very large, which we appreciate. Bathtub was oddly situated (like an after-thought). The HIE showerhead is great --- you can adjust them to almost any water-delivery.

We did not have a microwave but did have a small fridge. TV was a 32-inch flatscreen (Panasonic) with ample selections. Lighting was decent but the mirrors were moreso. Two in the bathroom and a couple out in the bedroom. Sure helps getting ready, with two people.

I did walk across the floor (carpet) in bare feet and it felt greasy and dirty (it's one of those carpets where you can't see any dirt) so immediately put my sandals back on.

Wireless worked fine (we need that!) but one of the two phones was broken. I reported it and they were going to replace it when we left. The other thing we always need is parking. We had two cars and they had plenty of space.

The place appears tired and it's near some rather cheap-o motels, within two blocks, but it's also near some decent restaurants (loved Original Pete's on 20th and J) and the old Music Circus (I guess they still have theater) and the Convention Center. Walkable to some. It was a bit bothersome that there were no snacks (vending machine) of any kind in the hotel so I had to walk to a little convenience store on G and 14th to even get some nuts to munch on or a variety of sodas. I don't even remember the last time I stayed in a hotel where there was no candy/nut/chip vending machine. Desk clerk confirmed there are none.

I remember the old Mansion Inn (next door --- now the Clarion) in its heyday, when the Governor's Mansion was occupied by the head of State, so this block just seemed to have seen better days lately. Not Motel 6 level (review below) but unfortunately not up to the level of the HIE we just stayed at, outside Baltimore.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We appreciate you putting allot of thought and time in writing your survey about our hotel and glad you found it comfortable. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#47 of 83 in Sacramento
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.6 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#35 of 83 in Sacramento
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center

Address: 728 16th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $145 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento s Best Value . We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capital, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic 'Old Town Sacramento', Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, on-demand pay movies and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome and we re a 100% non-smoking, AAA approved hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing