We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
82
94
58
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
94
58
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressgovernor's mansionfront deskmusic circuscinnamon rollsyogurtwithin walking distancedowntown locationthe breakfast arearoom was comfortable and cleanfree breakfastwould stay here againhousekeeping staffmini fridgeamtrak stationsacramento areanoel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 279 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Dirty rooms. Very disappointed. Comparable to motel 6. We checked in and out within ten minuets. I would not recommend staying here. Carpets are way dirty and worn as well. There are nicer motels with good values in the same area of Sacramento.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are Sorry you were disappointed with our rooms & felt you had to check out so quickly. Our rooms constantly receive high scores for cleanliness, not sure what happened with yours, the issue will be investigated. I can assure you that we are so much better than Motel 6 on every level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

i was given a room on the 3rd floor, located right behind the main elevator and stairwell. Room 3005, in the room, you could hear the elevator boom as it locked onto each floor. you could also hear the door slam shut from the stairwell all the way from the lobby to the top floor as well.

This particular room was not completely remodeled, the floor in the bathroom was redone, but, it was not set properly.

the room was huge, but lacked seating, the bathtub/shower was old and dirty, water pressure was horrible, the toilet was not secured to the floor properly, they used metal sling type toilet paper holders like they use in old public restrooms, the carpet was a nasty old style brown striped color, and the ceilings done in the old style acoustic popcorn ceilings.

upon entering this room, I noticed one bad thing, which city inspectors would have pitched a fit! over! their were wires hanging from the ceiling where the smoke alarm had been missing! I had to go to the front desk to let them know.

I asked housekeeping if i could look into a room of equal size and bed type that i was staying in, so she showed me, I had noticed that the carpets were different, newer, the walls were newer wallpaper, the ceilings newer, the bathroom much better shape with new faucets and not ones that have clear prism style plastic handles from the early 80's. the room also had a larger flat screen tv that was in my room, and it also had the new 3 port plug in on the nightstand, which my room did not have, so i knew then that my room had not been updated, but i was not going to complain, because this was my second trip to this hotel, and the last time i complained resulted in me getting 1 lousy return visit for a 3 night stay in which i had problems all 3 nights!

on top of it all, when i went to put my food into the mini fridge, it smelled like pizza from a previous guest! how often do they clean these things, makes me feel rather grossed out.

besides this, the hotel is okay, the pool i will never visit, as i found out, it is located next door in the Clarion hotels courtyard, which is very stupid.

the morning complimentary breakfast buffet is okay, sometimes they people who keep it filled are a little slow, but they tend to do a good job, they could use a little variety on their choices, alternating between sausage patties one day, and then bacon the next day, switching back and forth each day is a little boring.. but with their great cinnamon rolls, choices of toasting options like breads, english muffins and bagels, also other items as well as yogurts, milk, hard boiled eggs, milk, cereals, and several juices, coffee and tea...

if you travel to this hotel, make sure you check your room, and if it doesn't have what is listed on their website.. tell them you want a new room, and IF YOU USE THE INTERNET?? make sure you check your wifi signal, because several of the rooms have dead signal spots such as room 2022 and 4046.

Room Tip: Check to make sure your room has all the amenities that are stated on their website and other locations, if not, return to the front desk and make them change your room. check internet wifi in your room for wifi signal strength as their are several dead spots. if you are driving, make sure the front desk gives you a parking permit for your car, and put it in your windshield. keys for the rooms are sensor keys which you hold in front of the sensors and the lock opens, make sure you keep them away from cellphones and other electrical devices, they are VERY sensitive. Executive suites are the best, but more expensive.. bigger, with wet bars and couches.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for the review, we appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was clean and well appointed. It was slightly smaller than most standard rooms, but not much, the bathroom was roomy. There were no bugs and the air conditioner was nice and cold.

The breakfast was ok, there were hot and cold options.

The computers and printers in the business center were 'tempermental' working at times and then not at others.

The staff was ok, not overly friendly, but also not difficult.

Our room was nice and quiet at night (we were on the second floor) and we were able to get a good night's sleep. There were severl restuants nearby within walking distance. We would stay here again if we were in downtown Sacramento.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rblbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and glad you had a good nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend while he visited found it on hotwire so it was a surprise. The location wasn't bad typical downtown location. Gated parking was nice and free. Rooms were large and clean the beds were big and comfy! Breakfast was yummy and filling. The only thing was one lady at the front desk was a bit rude i think it was just her personality not a big deal really only talked to her when I checked in. Would stay again for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chochona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for the nice review and we hope you do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Good location within walking distance of many midtown restaurants. WIFI in room was very weak (1 bar) and non existent at times. I was unabIe to stream movies or play on line games with the in room connection. Solution was to sit downstairs in the eating area for a stronger connection but this is not 3 star quality in my opinion. Ample breakfast with eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy. Comfortable bed. Toiletries provided were passable but not 3 star quality. Room was clean but hallways and elevator had an odor...also not 3 star quality. Front desk staff were friendly and appreciated the free parking and free HBO. A better rating for this hotel would be 2 1/2 stars.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a strong WIFI connection if that is important to you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iceman749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your review and glad you had a pleasant stay. Good news about the weak WIFI, we are upgrading the entire system Sept 26th & 27th, 2012 which will take care of all issues. We hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews