We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple stays... clean, efficient, cordial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Signal Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multiple stays... clean, efficient, cordial”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Nicely appointed, clean, and well run. Seems to work very hard to maintain high ratings. If you want the Ritz, stay at the Ritz. This is a well run, well functioning, and well managed affordable Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel, we appreciate the positive feedback. Keep on coming back and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    90
    52
    23
    18
See reviews for
33
46
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Convention Center? Sure, 4-5 blocks away through a really seedy part of town. Quiet? Not hardly, the heater in our room almost drownded out the drunks yellinng and swearing as they strode by ALL NIGHT and the churchbells that toll until 9PM. Very datesd, clean rooms and comfortable beds, but I would not stay there again. You might learn by my experience and pass on this one. Sorry.

Room Tip: Get one some where else would be my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleyca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the location of the hotel. As most down town city center locations, they do come with some noises. In the process of our million plus dollar renovation recently one of the last things we are in the process of doing is addressing Heating system. I hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located and at a good price. We have stayed here before and found that it is clean but a little dated. We stayed here for one night to go to the theater and were looking forward to sleeping in Sunday morning. However, we were literally ripped from our sleep early in the AM with a worker pounding on the wall outside of our window. As if the pounding wasn't unsettling enough, we looked out the window to find a man on a lift able to look in on us as we slept. We were on the forth floor!

My husband called the front desk to complain and the response was "sorry, there is nothing we can do for you".

Through out the morning, this happened two more times. So, my advice to anyone who chooses to stay here, KEEP YOUR CURTAINS CLOSED at all times because there is no privacy!

My husband and I travel often and this is the first time I have taken the time to write a bad review...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and am truly sorry you experience a problem. We should have had the painters that were painting the exterior that is one of the last phases or our million plus dollar renovations start at a later time. You will be happy to know that they are done and the hotel looks great. I hope you will give us another try next time you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Property in great location in the heart of town, however, product has dated features, front desk staff extends no eye contact other than checking in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flores0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and sorry that the front desk staff only gave eye contact at check-in, I will put more focus on making sure we have great guest service agents at the front desk. All the rooms have been renovated and we will be receiving the new great room furniture and window coverings this month and that should take care of the last of the dated feeling the hotel had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night and have to say I found the hotel very pleasant. The room was very well appointed and the bathroom had toiletries that I have not seen in some 5* hotels. The only negative point I found was the odor in the 3rd floor hallway but I guess its due to the remodelling work going on in the 2nd floor.
Overall we enjoyed our short stay here and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Great review and glad you enjoyed your stay. The renovations did cause some odors, mainly from new carpet and wall vinyl being installed in the corridors which is all complete now. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice hotel in downtown Sacramento. the hotel help are super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed ourselves very much staying there. A lot a restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinxican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

For a 3 star hotel, it really isn't living up to expectations.

The carpets in the hallway have been recently changed so there's a lingering glue stench. The room is fairly standard, but I don't like the loud central air conditioning that shuts off and turns on automatically. The bathroom doesn't have the best shower head since it doesn't regulate water pressure very well.

It's hard to walk anywhere from the hotel, it's probably better to drive which really defeats the purpose of staying in a hotel downtown. However, it is a fair price since we booked it from Hotwire.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#46 of 81 in Sacramento
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#36 of 81 in Sacramento
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#40 of 81 in Sacramento
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Address: 728 16th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento s Best Value . We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capital, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic 'Old Town Sacramento', Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, on-demand pay movies and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome and we re a 100% non-smoking, AAA approved hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing