We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
league city
Level Contributor
1 review
“satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I had driven out from TX, staying in a different area of Sacramento before going to the Bay area. When we returned for him to fly out of Sacramento we stayed at your location because it is close to the Care Home my mother is in, off of Watt.
We were pleased with your motel, especially the full breakfast which most motels in the Choice chain don't provide.

Room Tip: ours was quiet because it was near the end of the hall, away from the Lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you found our hotel to be satisfactory during your visit to sacrmento. We constantly thrive to be better. We have just finished renovating the exterior and will soon begin the interior. We have added much more variety and rotation of different food items in our breakfast line up as well. Biscuit & Gravy, Bacon, Hashbrown are to name a few. Please visit us on your next trip to sacramento to enjoy these and much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    61
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
61
30
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I "discovered" Comfort Inn & Suites while traveling to Seattle earlier this year. We were very pleased with the one we stayed in in Oregon. When our grand child was born in Sacramento recently, and we were happy to find a Comfort Inn and Suites near the hospital. The Inn is clean, comfortable and safe feeling. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The complementary breakfast was great! I"m a real bargain hunter when it comes to traveling and paying for hotel rooms. I want a lot for my money and Comfort Inn and Suites delivers.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter. There aren't any people walking around or running water above your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and your trust in our accomodations. Unlike the economy or upscale hotels Comfort inn & suites is perfect to get a bang for your buck. With free breakfast, internet, business center, 24 hour coffee and much much more its always a great value at affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I, and another couple came up to Sacramento from San Francisco, last minute for a VW car show. We did not have any reservations and were hoping to find a decent hotel at a decent price. Not being impressed at all with the Motel 6 down the street, and Good Nite Inn next door we stumbled upon Comfort Inn & Suites! Wow! What a lovely hotel!! Big welcoming lobby, with an indoor pool, and fitness center, and EXTRAORDINARY continental breakfast in the morning! Not the usual toast and danishes. This breakfast actually included scrambeled eggs, sausages, cinnamon muffins, yummy pastries, fresh fruit, etc. SUPER yummy way to start your day without having to leave your hotel! The rooms are very big and spacious and VERY clean! Comfy beds with clean brand new bedding, and big fluffy comfy pillows! Rooms include wifi, fridge, and microwave which are all necessities for me. Also, corridors to the rooms are all indoors so it gives a feeling of extra security and safety. Will DEFINITELY return!! Oh, and very reasonably priced too :) Also, offers AAA discount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BReade81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased that after a long drive from San Francisco we were able to provide you with a realxing and comforting stay. Our full hot complimentary breakfast is our way of saying thank you for being our guest. Your kind compliments will serve as encouragement for us. I would like to invite you to come experience our newly renovated facility with new 42" and 50" flat screen televisions and much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times, but have always come to same conclusion.

a) rooms need deep cleaning and upgrading, torn and stained upholstery, old decor, old TV's, phone dirty, blow dryer dirty, mildew in shower area, shower curtain soured and not changed after every guest.
b) front desk staff is just okay, don't really make you feel welcome. When you ask them for anything, they seem indifferent.
c) 3rd floor is half smoking, so basically the smell on that floor is everywhere.
d) Typical cheap hotel behavior, I wanted to extend for one day and because the rate was higher the next night, they wanted me to pay close to $40.00 more. (so, I checked out and they lost another night's business)

Until this hotel is upgraded and the staff and mgmt get an attitude adjustment, you probably want to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Non smoking people stay on 1st and 2nd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choice-MemberDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We have recently completed some renovations and wanted to invite you to come enjoy our newly improved rooms featuring new lighting, paint and high-definition televisions. We would love and opportunity to better serve you again. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel was higher $ than the one right next door, but worth every penny for peace of mind. Greeted and accommodated very nicely, and spoken to in understandable Engish! Everything clean throughout hotel. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Decent security even in stairwells and well lit with a visual on your vehicle. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that your stay with us was a satisfactory one. As you mentioned, safety and security of our guest is of very high importance to us. Hence we have taken all reasonable steps to ensure that you feel safe and comfortable while getting a good night's sleep. Please visit us soon to experience our newly renovated facility and High-def televisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We started our family road trip from Washington to California and after 12 hours of driving, this was our first stop. We used the GPS and had no problem getting there....very easy, parked right up front.. The room ($80) was clean and very nice with all of the toiletries. We all enjoyed the indoor pool and slept very well on the beds. The breakfast was the best here on our whole road trip (sausage patties, eggs, waffles, fruit, yogurt, assorted breads/cereals, coffee/juice)....all very good and plenty of seating. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomInWA98391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that we were able to make you feel comfortable during your visit to Sacramento. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My mom and I recently went to Sacramento to visit my sister and family. We stayed 8 days at the Comfort Inn. When we first arrived they could not find their one and only cart so a helper carried all of our stuff to our room, which was nice, but flustering. Our keys were locked out twice which frustrated us since we parked in back and could not get in so we walked almost entirely around the entire hotel to get in the front. Speaking of the parking lot, it was very small and was very hard to get into the small parking spaces. On the good side, the breakfast they provided was good and it was pretty quiet at night so we did not have trouble sleeping. Although, the mattress hurt my back so I needed to prop myself up so I could sleep. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. We kept the air conditioner on 60 degrees because any warmer and it got to hot to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CamlynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAJCA644, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had difficulties with your keys and the luggage cart not being readily availble. We have two luggage carts and they were both being used by the guest when you arrived. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful & courteous and the room comfortable. I look forward to provide you with an more comfortable & enjoyable stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#31 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
#24 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
6.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
4.1 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
Address: 21 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95826-2623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Sacramento
Comfort Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing