We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Spend an Evening”
Review of Bistro Michel - CLOSED

Bistro Michel
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Spend an Evening”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Located somewhat off the beaten path of Midtown Sacramento, Bistro Michel was only about half full at 7:30 PM on a Saturday night so despite our party of four having a quality meal, we were somewhat concerned that the restaurant will not go the way of Virga's and Gaylord's, two good restaurants that preceded Bistro Michel in this location. The exterior had been renovated, but the interior was about the same. Loved the white table cloths, wine glassware, and flowers, the place had a big city vibe. We brought our own wine and our server offered to chill our ZD Chard and decant our bottle of Orin Swift "Prisoner." Corkage at $15 per bottle was quite reasonable. No problem splitting our salads at no extra charge, but charging $2 for bread and butter seemed chintzy. Salads consisted of chilled fresh crisp Bibb lettuce, accompanied by black radish, sliced hard-boiled egg and a good shallot vinaigrette dressing. The 10 oz. flat iron steak was perfectly cooked medium rare and was hot and flavorful, topped by herbed butter and accompanied by pommes frites dressed with truffle oil that were out of this world. Others had the fish of the day which was escolar, the portion of which was somewhat small, but the sauce, potatoes, and spinach were delicious. The chocolate cheese cake was shared and very respectable. Service was slow for a half full restaurant. We did appreciate the owner, Richard Macias, coming over to ask how we were doing. We all agreed we would come back, but would have the kitchen hustle things along a bit quicker, and not charge for bread and butter.

Helpful?
Thank Sid Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I felt like I was in Paris...”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

That's what my wife said about the atmosphere. The food was outstanding and the price was very reasonable for a restaurant of this caliber. Our server seemed a little new but we were willing to excuse his inexperience because the overall experience was quite good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjbouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Macero
Level Contributor
117 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love Bistro Michel for lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I have been to Bistro Michel several times - whenever we want good food with a European ambiance but don't want to drive to Yountville. Weekends have a brunch menu - I prefer there regular lunch menu so check out the menu online before you go. The restaurant is never crowded so it also ideal for a dinner when you need to talk or hear yourself think.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennett_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Bistro Michel is a hidden gem in Sacramento. There is both indoor seating and outdoor tables, which are dog friendly. They even have treats for dogs. The food is superb. While the brunch menu is not extensive, what they offer is well prepared. My wife had a mimosa for Mother's Day and enjoyed it. The eggs benedit and crab benedict were wonderful. The server was friendly. They brought water and treats for our dogs. The dinner menu has some great entrees as well. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting outside in our version of a Parisian cafe.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Knyght1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food Good, Service Not So Much....”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Meeting friends for a leisurely Sunday lunch after a visit to the Crocker, we had heard raves about Bistro Michel. Located on an unpresuming corner near the busy Capitol, the restaurant was about 15-20% full. Reminiscent of cafes in Paris with white table cloths (no paper here), we were seated at a table for six. The waiter was pleasant - but it seemed as though he was the only waiter in the restaurant (although I heard the voices of others). There are several rooms for seating and the waiter seemed to have go go away for a long time each time he left the table. Perhaps other rooms were busier and got more attention. We had about 10-12 tables in our area and only a couple had patrons. Other diners came in and were seated, but one couple left after about 20 minutes with no acknowledgement from the wait staff. Another never sat, waiting for someone to appear at the desk and seat them. So nice people, but need more of them, even on Sunday afternoon.

Four orders of Crab Cake Benedict (Dungeness Crab, Poached Egg, English Muffin, Dill Hollandaise) and one Monte Cristo (Ham, Swiss, House Brioche, Maple Syrup) without syrup. It was a difficult choice as the menu was small but with delicious looking options. All were received to generous reviews. The food is good!

Overall, we would return - the food really was good. But we would hope they would look at their staffing patterns - hopefully, it was just a matter of someone not showing up for work. The staff who were there were gracious, but clearly feeling the stress.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tikinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Michel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing