We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is adequate for a night's sleep nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Sacramento Central
Ranked #62 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Is adequate for a night's sleep nothing special”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Like every Motel 6, this place was a no-frills low cost motel. I was in town for an interview and this place was close and cheap. This location is really close to Sacramento State University so if you're coming in town for that, it might be a good place to stay. There's also a gas station across the street as well as a McDonalds. Wifi is $2.99 extra per 24 hour period. There's also free parking and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

This Motel 6 is about 3/4 of a mile from Sacramento State. I stayed a Monday night in room 406 (upstairs; non-smoking); it had one queen bed and a 17"(?) TV. There were no extras. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. There was a pool, which was very clean, with the snack, soda & ice machines located right next to it. The landscaping was very nice & the property was very well kept. The front desk clerk was very friendly. I paid $41.56 ($36.99 + taxes after booking online the day before). There is a Denny's Restaurant (open 24 hours) located right next door. Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaJB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

Although many people consider Motel 6 as a chain of cheap off-road motels for poor truck drivers, this one was actually very clean and nice. Rooms were spacious, smelled nice and staff was very helpful, not to mention it was also very central. Not bad at all!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqFlyerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

On the outside this hotel is very attractive and well kept. It even takes a while for the problems of this place to sink in as there is nothing hugely wrong or horribly disgusting, just a lot of things that eventually get to you. #1--no toilet seats. Imagine the type of toilets you see in a mall or a department store bathroom, that is what they have here. #2--the bathroom door does not lock. There isn't even a lock that doesn't work. There just isn't a lock. Also the bathroom door does not close all the way. #3--certain set ups in the room make it very easy to hit your head. Not pleasant. #4--the front desk was polite but ultimately incompetent. #5--the way you get WiFi here is just stupid. They should give you one # you use the whole time you're there but no you have to go to the (incompetent) front desk everyday and buy a new internet card. It would be better if the front desk knew what they were doing. One day, the lady did not even understand what I wanted even though there is a huge banner outside the lobby that says "WiFi here." However, we were not here for a beautiful stunning hotel stay. We wanted a good price which we got and we wanted a location close to Sac State which we got. Other than that, a rather questionable place.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jfs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2003

Okay, the thing about this hotel, which is located near Cal State University Sacramento, is that you have to be careful about the rooms that you get. I opted for a single, which was very small. $50.00 is a good room but it's just too small, I think. The television was on a shelf but it wasn't facing the bed. I have stayed here with friends before, and the double rooms are much bigger and much better. That's what I would advise. Spring for a double even as a single and you'll have much more room and be much happier. You know what's nice about this hotel? If you're staying there you can be in South Lake Tahoe in an hour and a half and San Francisco in an hour and a half - it's a good place to camp out and save some money while seeing a lot of Northern California. And check out the bike/running/walking path along the nearby river - truly cool. Mountain Mike's pizza down the street is pretty good, too!

Helpful?
15 Thank DTM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#31 of 81 in Sacramento
451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Med Park
Hotel Med Park
#46 of 81 in Sacramento
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
#24 of 81 in Sacramento
228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arden Star Hotel
Arden Star Hotel
#43 of 81 in Sacramento
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sacramento Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sacramento Central

Property: Motel 6 Sacramento Central
Address: 7850 College Town Dr, Sacramento, CA 95826-5701
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sacramento Central 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Sacramento Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Sacramento
Motel Six Sacramento
Sacramento Motel 6
Sacramento Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing