We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #42 of 1,981 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Broadway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited the Black Bear Diner for breakfast when l stayed at the Super 8 Motel next door, The menu was endless and such good reading I brought a copy home. I was delighted to find Huevos Rancheros (my favorite Mexican breakfast) on the menu, it varied a bit to others I have had but the additional items added extra flavours. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was excellent considering it was about 06:30 in the morning. Will definatley eat at a Black Bear Diner again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skinnermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    62
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic Onion Rings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality at this chain restaurant near the Fairfield Inn. The dinner salad was crisp and ample with an excellent Caesar dressing. The ribs were flavorful though a bit too fatty. We shared the entree and ordered an extra dinner salad. Itwasal plenty of food for two. Our dinner companions both had HUGE servings of whole-grain pancakes which they deemed delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This weekend I had lunch at Black Bear for the first time, a very large menu with great prices. Very good restaurant for a chain and the service was the best. Great job Black Bear.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveNovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
278 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Big Menu with Big prices. Family place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

A large family restaurant with a big menu selection but it is pricey. No alcohol sold. I had the hot turkey dinner and it was primarily mashed potatoes/gravy and 2 slices of turkey. Hot veggie was fried zucchini/cucumber with a couple carrots. Garden salad was very good and cold. Service was good and food came promptly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hurricane48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of a chain of 51 restaurants. I believe it is still family owned. The decor is rustic and very clean. The hostess was very friendly. The food is very good and there are large portions. You can either share a meal with your significant other or take half of it home for a meal later in the day. The prices are very reasonable. The only reason that I did not give them a 5 star rating is because the pecan pie was not cooked and had to be returned. Wade, the manager, did apologize for the pie and offered another type of pie. So, good customer service. Other than that, every meal that we have had there has been really good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing