We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel only one block from capitol strolling. Great room, service with many nice restaurants nearby. Bar was nice with excellent service. $28 nightly parking fee a bit excessive - really geared more for corporate than for vacationing families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Grand Sacramento and for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We are grateful for your comments regarding our convenient location, well-appointed guestrooms and nice restaurants and bars on property. Your insights regarding the parking fee is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share this feedback with our team. Should you stay with us again, please note that self-parking is available across the street in our garage at a discounted rate. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will consider the Sheraton Grand on your next visit to Sacramento.

Best,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    365
    128
    45
    41
See reviews for
114
137
62
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antioch, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I love the outdoor and nightlife in Sacramento. We live in Antioch and every chance we get we venture out to Sacramento. The Sheraton Grand always delivers and we love the look and feel of the hotel. We have had a few issues, but they were dealt with fairly and professionally. On this particular visit, we not only had five star service inside the hotel, but outside with a particular valet employee, Karlin Walter. Karlin greeted us with a smile and even asked our names. We have a difficult last name to remember but Karlin remembered our names every time he retrieved our car and when we returned to the hotel. We liked the personalized service Karlin gave and made the stay feel even more like home. The bartender also made the smoothest and most yummy dirty martini I ever had! Love you Sheraton Grand Sacramento!

Room Tip: Love the city views from the rooms on the upper floors. You can take in the view thanks to the desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are always delighted to hear from our loyal guests as it gives us the opportunity to thank you for your continued support. Thank you for sharing your comments on the general hotel décor and the professional and helpful service you received while staying as our guest. Your comments for Karlin are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share them directly with his team. Thank you again and on behalf of the entire team here at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip. The Sheraton Grand Sacramento is a very nice hotel in a great downtown location, right across from the convention center and close to plenty of restaurants and bars. The employees are all very warm and friendly. The lobby/bar/restaurant is in Sacramento's original Market Building - it's been beautifully restored and is very spacious and inviting. The rooms are in a modern highrise and while they're nice they can use a refresh. Valet parking is available for $28/day or you can self-park in the garage located very conveniently located right across from the hotel for $18/day. Overall, my experience was great. The only complaint I have is that the complimentary WiFi in the lobby/restaurant is limited to 2 hours. Other than that, everything was great. I'll definitely stay here again the next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor so you get a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibos89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your delightful comments on your most recent stay. We are pleased to hear that our staff provided for your every need and you were able to experience the beauty of our historical hotel. Your insights regarding the internet usage are very helpful as we are constantly trying to provide our guests with the best level of service while also keeping prices low. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sacramento.

Best,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This Sheraton is well-maintained, in a good location, recently renovated, and staffed by warm welcoming members. The Club Lounge had decent snacks. The front desk staff was especially gracious, as were the valets. The location of this hotel is good, albeit a bit far from the west end inclusions of the river, old town, and so on.

Room Tip: Request a west side room if the early morning sun tends to bother you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50states7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business trip. Very convenient to walk to great restaurants on K St & L. 11th & 12th. And to the Capital.

Room was very nice & quiet.
Upon checking in the desk agent was so courteous & asking where would I like my room. Thanked me for being a Starwood member. Didn't use valet for a car. But did ask them for cabs & directions very helpful.

Link - business center very comfortable & spacious.

Would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriB1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your most recent stay at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you for sharing our convenient location with our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Whenever we host an event at this hotel we are always amazed at the excellent service we receive from staff. Just about every single staff person you came in contact with made you feel welcome at the hotel. It was evident they appreciated our business and went out of their way to make sure our event went off without a hitch. In particular Carlos and Alex who greatly assisted in the flawless flow of our event and who happened to be in the right place whenever I need to request service. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We always appreciate guest feedback and are very grateful when a guest takes the time to acknowledge our hardworking associates. Thank you for your comments on our excellent service, especially that service provided by Carlos and Alex. We will be sure to share this praise with them directly. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Grand Sacramento on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento for a couple of nights. The hotel is located across the street from the Convention Center and just a few blocks from the state capital and a 15 minute walk to the Old Town. The public areas including restaurant, bar, and meeting rooms are in a beautifully restored old building with comfortable and cozy seating areas. On the second floor, guests have free access to several computers with Internet access. The hotel lobby, front desk, and guest room tower is in an adjacent building (seamlessly connected). The hotel has a gym for guests. However, I did not get a chance to take a look. Guests may self park for $18 per day (with in and out privileges) at the garage across the street or valet park at $28 per day.

My check-in experience was quick and efficient from a cheery and helpful front office staff member.

The guest room was standard sized for an American hotel and was warmly decorated and contained contemporary furnishings (see photos). A large window afforded nice views over Sacramento and allowed a lot of light into the room. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were clean and crisp. The bathroom was bright and, along with the room, was very clean.

The hotel has a nice program where for each day you choose not to have your room serviced by housekeeping, the hotel will give you a $5 off coupon valid in the hotel’s food and beverage outlets. Alternatively, you can have points credited to your SPG account.

I had breakfast in the hotel's Morgan's Restaurant. The restaurant offers a continental buffet or a complete breakfast buffet (with hot dishes) or you may order a la cart off of the menu. I ordered a la cart and was satisfied with both the quality of the food and the service by the staff.

Overall, I had a pleasant stay and would stay at this hotel again when in the Sacramento area with a need to be downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstuff0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Grand_Hotel, Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear SF-Coast-Traveler,

We appreciate you reviewing our hotel in such detail! We are pleased to hear you had such a pleasant stay and we thank you for telling other guests about the aspects of the hotel that you liked. We hope to have you back again soon!

Best,
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
3.5 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#15 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Address: 1230 J St, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing