We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn off Capitol Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn off Capitol Park
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Colleagues and I recently stayed here when in town for an annual conference at the Convention Center, and we were all very pleasantly surprised at our overall stay. We normally stay a little closer to the CC, at the Hyatt or the Sheraton, but tried this hotel is just a block off the east side of Capitol Park this year. We were delighted to find it an easy (and pleasant) 10-minute walk to the Convention Center, and it offers both free parking, and a free continental breakfast with lots of options (yogurt, cereals, oatmeal, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee).
All the rooms were clean, quiet, had a small refrigerator, and while not "spacious", certainly not crowded-feeling, either. Because the rooms all open into an indoor courtyard/atrium, which some folks found comforting and secure.
Best of all was the hotel staff. All were cheerful, friendly - and helpful! Not familiar with the area, we needed to choose restaurants for two evenings, and they were so helpful in orienting distances, types of cuisine, and value! We all agreed that The Inn Off Capitol Park will be our #1 choice for future Sacramento conventions!

Room Tip: Insist on the top floor (3), as the 2nd floor is centered around the common area which includes the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
35
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this small, three story hotel for two days. The room was small, but very clean. While they offered free Wi-Fi, it wasn't easily accessible inside the room. However, they had a quaint atrium on the second floor where the Wi-Fi reception was excellent. They also offered a free continental breakfast: hot oatmeal, a variety of cold cereals, fresh bagels with cream cheese, variety of juices, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, yogurt, and daily newspaper. The best thing about this hotel was its location. It was within walking distance of the Capitol Building, Capitol Park, Leland Museum, and the Governor's Mansion. Also within walking distance were several restaurants. There was no need for us to move our car from the garage. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have our maintenance checking the wireless signal as we speak! Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope that you will stay with us again when you visit Sacramento next.
Thank you,
Patrick
Patrick@royalguesthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I liked the Inn and would stay here again. We were attending the Jazz Fest and could get a shuttle only 5 blocks away - a nice walk though the delightful Capitol Mall park. The Hyatt and hotels on the shuttle route were larger and much more expensive. I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. When I called I talked to ... I think his name was Max. He was friendly and even took the time to look up the shuttle schedule for me. Tandy at the desk was delightful, friendly and helpful as well. With one exception, we loved our room. It was sunny, spacious and had both a small refrigerator and a microwave. I liked that they provided china cups, not paper or styrofoam, real glasses and even wine glasses and wine bottle opener - all amenities not usually found in much pricier accommodations. See room tips.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, one must choose between a large, bright sunny room - but with lots of street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi10ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Like a European hotel, with breakfast in the atrium. Common room separated from the meal tables for reading or visiting. My large family recently stayed with them-had four varied rooms. Definitely a special-needs friendly hotel. Plentiful continental breakfast. Speedy check in and out.

Issues: Parking down below rooms on floor 1, in and out easy IF person parking behind you is around. Double parking is essential due to lack of Capital area parking. Tickets in this town are hefty so do not circumvent the process of parking here. You really do not need a car downtown Sacto.
Meal: flimsy styrofoam plates waste food because they can only tolerate microwave for less than 5 seconds before imploding. Suggest a sign near the microwave warning use with caution. It was ruin-atious.
Staff: the housekeepers gather at the meal tables to have morning break. That is wonderful, however, I am unaccustomed to having my stay along with the housekeepers on break. Is there another spot they can chat, eat and rest? and if not-can they be quiet?

Room Tip: All rooms face the street-Sacramento is currently full of the frat boy and party girl scene downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugnurse56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ok, this rating would have been a 3.5 as this place is adequate to most traveler's needs. That score
Dropped when the front desk person allowed drunks to storm the place at 2am and ruin what was a decent nights rest. I had a full day of work the day after on little sleep. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and had a great check-in. The front desk person was delightful, even at 10 pm. She greeted us with cookies and even offered to walk us to the elevator. The morning continental breakfast was also a nice surprise - Starbucks coffee was a treat. My fiancée loved the New Leaf market cereals too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alliah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Easy walk to Capitol office buildings. Small eateries nearby, nothing too fancy but they will keep you fed. The hotel provides a nice complimentary breakfast that offers: coffee, tea, cereals, baked goods, yogurt and fresh fruit. Internet access is free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Patrick Dunne-Phillips
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#43 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
0.5 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#41 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn off Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn off Capitol Park

Property: Inn off Capitol Park
Address: 1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn off Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn off Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Off Capitol Park
Off Capitol Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing