We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location Counts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn off Capitol Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn off Capitol Park
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location Counts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've stayed twice at this hotel for meetings at a state government office, which is located just one block away. Other attendees stayed at hotels that were a cab ride away.
The accommodations were fine, the staff has been friendly and helpful, the parking is free (even this close in) and the prices are quite reasonable. They will match the state rate, too!
The Inn off Capitol Park is my choice for visits to Sacramento.

Room Tip: The Inn offers free breakfast, but there's no restaurant at the Inn. There are good places to ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TK_SantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear TK_SantaCruz,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Dunne-Phillips
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916.447.8100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
35
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation for 2 beds and 2 people for a busy time well ahead of time. I even called to make sure our government rate would be honored. To my surprise, the reservation was changed to 1 bed. Since they were booked they offered a rollaway to be placed while we were at dinner. Came back - no rollaway. They then tried to place us in a room behind the ice machine from hades. I have always loved this place. Too bad they don't honor their commitments. At least at they Hyatt and Hilton you can earn points! Never again. The little gem has become a lump of coal.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KikiHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear KikiHancock,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Inn Off Capitol Park, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the room type and roll away bed you received on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with maintenance and front desk staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sacramento.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Dunne-Phillips
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916.447.8100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Being from Sacramento, I wanted something that was centrally located and not too expensive. I had never stayed here before and decided to give it a try. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. It is in the middle of midtown. Close to just about everything midtown/downtown has to offer.
The staff was great. Rooms were clean and the room had a window you could open for fresh air.
On my next vacation back I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a nice little full service hotel within safe walking distance of downtown Sacramento and the Capitol. They offer a free breakfast, newspaper and computer / printer access and even had an iPhone charger to borrow since I forgot mine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

What a great surprise-! We travel to Sacramento a couple times a year for concerts and this was the perfect location. We usually stay at the Best Western but were on a budget this trip so I searched and searched for a deal. Little did I know I'd found a gem! Walking distance to Ace of Spades or a $5 cab fare. Nice room. Bath & Body Works products. Free parking. Good linens and soft pillows. Air conditioning worked great on this hot 111* day-! Free breakfast was a bonus. At all the hotel sites I checked on, I got a better rate booking with the hotel directly. Pre-payed for the room and got a $20 discount. Friendly staff. We will be staying here again-!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykeepsmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Ladykeepsmiling,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Dunne-Phillips
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916.447.8100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a nice hotel to stay at as we were doing a road trip from Seattle down to San Diego. I liked the decor and the rooms were clean. It's in a quiet area which is nice, we were able to get a lot of rest before we got back on the road. I would recommend this hotel as it is in a great location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#43 of 81 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#38 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn off Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn off Capitol Park

Property: Inn off Capitol Park
Address: 1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814-5008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn off Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn off Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Off Capitol Park
Off Capitol Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing