We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cool find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn off Capitol Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn off Capitol Park
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cool find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I just needed a place to stay for one night in Sacrament, and I wanted to stay downtown. We went on TripAdvisor and looked at several, but we couldn't justify paying some of the prices considering we'd be in and out the next morning. Then I found this place... Right near the Capitol, and we were able to just walk to lots of restaurants and things going on right around there. One note on Downtown Sac...wish your coffee shops stayed open later!! There was a Starbucks and a Java City right nearby, but alas they were closed and it was only 830 or 9pm.
But the hotel was great ...spacious rooms, really cool indoor atrium with a surprisingly good breakfast spread of bagels, danish, cereals, coffee and tea. Lots of couches and tables for sitting and relaxing. (there's a good pic of it in the photos)
Rate was VERY reasonable compared to area hotels. And most importantly, in a town where you can't find parking and it's expensive, they offer free parking.
We were happy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your cool find "The Inn Off Capitol Park, An Ascend Collection Hotel". I'm glad you were able to visit the restaurants in the area and also sit, relax and enjoy our breakfast in the hotel atrium. We love to make our customers happy! Wev appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
35
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I am familiar with most of the hotels in the Sacramento area; my girlfriend and I spend a night a week on average trysting in them (we're not married to others, just lazy housekeepers). And the Good Nite Inn ($35 but clean) and Vagabond Inn just ain't romantic enough, to say the least.
For $100 on Fri-Sun nights (too expensive at $140 during the week for us) you get a room that is indistinguishable from one at the Hyatt save for it's being smaller and the bathroom is a bit Motel 6-ish (but clean, with good hot water and pressure). Mattress and linen top shelf, fridge, microwave, flat screen, very plush. I've never had a problem with noise. Pleasant common area (atrium-like) with ceiling fans;juices, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and tea for breakfast. Free parking in indoor area.
The hotel is also centrally located in very good area, unlike cheaper ($50-90) places near Arden, Discovery Park or J St. Walking distance to dining and clubs on J, L and R Sts, 2 blocks from Capitol Rose Garden, 1.5 mi from Old Sac.

All in all, the perfect place for a romantic couple of nights in downtown Sac that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelindave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We love to hear from our local guests too. We are very pleased to know you consider our hotel a "perfect place for a romantic couple". Looking forward to serve you again soon!

Maria Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a great little hotel in the perfect location. The staff was wonderful. Check in was smooth and every staff member we came in contact with was more than willing to offer restaurant recommendations, etc. We were originally booked for three nights but when a change of plans occurred, I was able to extend it for a fourth night.

The room was definitely on the small side, but was very comfortable. Our room did not have any evidence of poor housekeeping or lack of maintenance that others have described. Our room faced N St. and we did have a little noise, but the fan drowned that out. The water pressure in the room was wonderful. There was also a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in our room. Others have mentioned parking problems. I don't believe the hotel was full when we were there, but there were always multiple spaces available even when arriving late at night. The spots are tight though, especially if you have a larger vehicle.

We only had breakfast one day while there and it was a basic continental breakfast. Nothing to complain about, but nothing spectacular either.

We were in town for a wedding that took place in downtown Sacramento. The hotel was within an easy walk to the church, making it perfect since my husband and I had to be at the church at different times. It's also within a very easy walk to capitol park. I would highly recommend taking the time to visit the park. Besides the Vietnam Veteran's Memorial, there's a rose garden, a tree grove and many other beautiful areas.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again with no hesitations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Please accept our sincere thanks for your review regarding your pleasant stay at our hotel. We are always happy to hear from our guests, especially when their experience is a pleasant one. Thank You for the recommendations for other guests to visit the capitol park, it is an excellent area to visit and explore and within a very short walk from our hotel.

Hope to see you again soon!

Maria Lara
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I found the staff at the desk to be very helpful. I arrived before check-in time & was told I could wait in the tiny lobby or in the atrium, which is airy & bright, with comfortable seating. I chose to go out, & I received great advice about local eateries, coffee shops, etc. in the area. They held my bags & I walked around Capitol Park, which was lovely. Roses weren't yet in bloom, but I've seen the rose garden before, & it is spectacular! My room was actually a tiny suite, with a sitting area & 2 flat screen TVs. The bed & linens were VERY comfortable & everything was immaculate. I had a room on the 3rd floor, and it was quiet all night. But there was a noise issue for me in the morning: There is an exercise room in the area of the atrium & someone was on a treadmill or some machine that made a huge racket & was talking with someone else. The door to the exercise room was open, & the sounds actually woke me up at 6:30 a.m. & I am a heavy sleeper. I could not figure out what was making those awful sounds, until I got up & investigated. Not a lot of sound insulation in the rooms, I guess. Other than that, though, I enjoyed my stay - had free cookies in the early evening, enjoyed their atrium, got a map & good advice for eating & shopping, as I was on foot & a little nervous about being out & about at night. But all was well. An enjoyable experience overall.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms, away from the exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chj54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your candid review. Our employees are our most valuable assets and we are very pleased when they are helpful to our guests and succeed in making our guest feel welcome. I appreciate you for taking the time to let us know where improvement is needed as well so we may continue to maintain our high standards.

Hope to see you soon on your next trip to Sacramento!

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Great location, free parking, lovely atrium and comfortable, clean room. I read a few of the negative reviews but I found none of that. Even on New Year's Eve there was no noise problem. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and appointed with a small fridge and microwave. Everything about it was convenient. For a hotel so reasonably priced it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

I cant believe i HAVE to give this place a 1STAR! I'm so disappointed. I understand that this hotel is located in midtown, very limited on space, however, it could've been better. So, we checked in on 9/16/11 around 4:30ish. We we're informed that there will be breakfast at 6am7:00 and will be served on the 2nd floor, then appointed upstairs to our room on the 2nd floor as well. Not a problem. The elevator was awkward to begin with. We get up to our room, 203, right in front of the breakfast and lounge area, awkward. The people in the lobby were rude, they just stared at us. The room, It was small, there was a fridge, a small desk, a "queen" bed, which was really only a full sized bed, and the usual 2 nigh stand and blah blah blah. Anyways, bathroom, standard. The evening went well, went to dinner and back in by 11pm. People were still in the lounge, and talking loudly. Rude! Tucked away into bed by 2am bc bed was uncomfortable. 7am, loud talking, laughing, and noises, people were up, having breakfast and moving metal chairs around on tiles, creating disruptions, and causing us to have to wake up. Finally, 730 rolls around, still loud right outside my door, I call front desk to ask the people to please keep it down. The girl said she'd be up in 10 minutes to ask them. Never heard a prompt from her. 8am, still disruptions outside my door. I'm upset by now. So I go downstairs and talk to the girl myself. I returned to the room, kindly, we were offered a late check out at 1230pm so we can nap. We finally dozed off, around 10am, and of course, we were awoken by housekeeping. Not at our door, but in other rooms, talking and, vacuuming, and with the vacuum cleaner banging against the walls! Whatever, we rolled outta bed, showered and left this dump. I will never recommend this place, and am now looking to see if I can get my money back. Last nights sleepless night was and is worse than having a newborn baby at home, which was the main reason for this escape. Stay away from this place. ONE MORE THING, NO WIFI. THEY SAID COMCAST SAID IT WAS ISSUES FROM HOTELS END, AND HOTEL SAYS IT COMCAST! Again.... THIS PLACE IS A DUMP!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beahbay823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Public Relations Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Hello, thank you for your candor regarding your recent visit to the hotel. I am very sorry your experience was not a good one. Please call me, or email me, whatever your preference, as I would like to discuss things with you.

Best regards,

Matthew Silver

Royal Guest Hotels
916-455-4000 x 612
matt@royalguesthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent spacious rooms with all amenities. Close to grocery store, good restaurants, park and convention center.

Better than any hotel down town Sacramento for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Public Relations Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Hello, thank you for letting us know about your visit with us. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Sacramento.

Best regards,

Matthew Silver
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#43 of 81 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#38 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn off Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn off Capitol Park

Property: Inn off Capitol Park
Address: 1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814-5008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn off Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn off Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Off Capitol Park
Off Capitol Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing