We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

thank you Zack, Sarah, Jessica, Victor, the GM wonderful lady. the whole staff just wonderful. We came from Hawaii for Kidney transplant at U. C. Davis we cant thank you enough we love you guys. the food and service great, pool and Jacuzzi wonderful. thank God for AC it was 105 outside. Produce sale was a plus. the freeway and town so close and easy to find. My wife's Kidney OP was a success only for the great joy we experienced at your wonderful Hotel. Aloha is all we saw and received Hawaii could learn a lesson of aloha visiting this wonderful Hotel

Room Tip: any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFinerman-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown on the UCDavis Medical Center Campus. We will pass on your comments to our staff-they will be so pleased to see your comments about the guest service you received. We have all been enjoying the Farmer's Market with fresh fruit and cooked items right across from our parking lot on Thursdays-nice option for our guests! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back should you need to visit the area. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    91
    33
    19
    5
See reviews for
64
28
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel and the wonderful staff. it's located right by UC Davis Hospital, where a family member was admitted. She was also dying, but we didn't know how long until the end. On a daily basis, the staff held our room for us until we told them we would be staying another night. Since we had to play it day-by-day, the staff also automatically gave us a late checkout every day.

Since many people who are being treated at UC Davis Hospital stay here, or family members of inpatients, the staff is well attuned to their needs. They are friendly, compassionate, but not intrusive. All of them inquired regularly about how our family member was doing, and how WE were doing. They asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay better. There was not. One young man -- and I'm sorry that I don't remember his name -- even shared with me a personal experience of his own with a dying family member. These aren't just quality professionals; these are caring people who let their humanity and personalities show.

The amenities were just what we needed. A fitness center with a good amount of equipment helped me work off stress. The Bistro had good quality food, excellent service, and convenient hours. Eating breakfast on the sunny patio many mornings was a welcome respite from the worries across the street.

The rooms are clean, modern, sunny, quiet, and come with a coffee pot and small fridge. There is even a laundry room, and free detergent at the front desk. Since we thought that our stay would be shorter than what it turned out to be, we packed light, so the laundry was wonderful.

When that sad day came and our family member passed, I made it a point to thank all of the staff. They made our family ordeal more tolerable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cozmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFinerman-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for you review of the Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown on the UCDavis Medical Center Campus. We so appreciate that you took the time to recognize the staff for their guest service-we work hard to see reviews like yours and our associates will be happy to see your comments. Our Bistro is a bit unique for Courtyards in that we are open all day from 6am on weekdays to 7am on weekends through 10pm as we have so many guests who appreciate having Starbucks drinks, many food options and a full bar available to them. We even offer a Bistro Plus menu for dinner with Steak, Salmon, Pasta, etc. on weekdays to add choices and options for our guests. Many of our guests return after working in Downtown Sacramento or from visiting loved ones at Shriner's Hopsital or UCDavis Medical Center and appreciate having food and drink options right here. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us at the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, California
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently received a bone marrow transplant at UC Davis, Sacramento. The location of this facility is just a few blocks from the hospital. We cannot say enough about the wonderful accommodations as well as the caring & compassionate staff. Since I was unable to leave the room for a few days prior to my follow up visit with the oncologist, my husband would go downstairs to get some of the few items I was allowed to eat after the transplant. My husband wanted to make the simple event of providing me with meals extra special so the staff provided him with a tray with LED candles ! Each day the staff would ask how I was doing and if there was anything extra they could do for us.
Fantastic accommodations; super clean; amazing staff !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFinerman-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown at UCDavis Medical Center. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on the comments to our staff. We are anxious to make everyone feel like a VIP here and our associates will be happy to see your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown at UCDavis Medical Center soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The number one reason you get a hotel room is so you can get a good nights sleep. Good luck at this CourtYard. The mattress was wore out. It had a big valley in it as if a giant slept in it the night before. I hope they take care of this issue soon. Also the water pressure was next to nothing, plumbing issue? If they address these issues I would be more likely to return, but or now I will go someplace else for a good nights sleep.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DCA2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFinerman-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Sacramento at UCDavis Medical Center. We very much appreciate your feedback. I am very sorry that your experience fell short of expectations. We are preparing for a major renovation where all furniture, including beds, carpet, curtains, etc. will be brand new. You may have noticed that we do have the new Courtyard Refreshing Bistro and new Lobby area where Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Starbucks are offered daily from 6:30am to 10pm (7am on weekends). We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard Sacramento at UCDavis Medical Center for a perfect experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
341 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here as my son is in a study at UC Davis Mind. The location cannot be beat for this area as it was a short walk to the center. The area is a little busy, but with a map or gps you are able to find quite a few restaurants and places to see. Parking is free and there is plenty of it. Lobby is very modern with the touch screen and features available for guests. Rooms here are large, clean and comfortable. Refrigerators are available. Appeared to be a safe area as we saw people walking outside at 4:00am in the morning when we were leaving. Enjoyed being able to buy a snack downstairs as it is a distance from a convenience store. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFinerman-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown on the UCDavis Medical Center campus. Our guests enjoy the convenience of being able to walk to all of the UC Davis and Shriner's Hospital facilities or they can call the UCDavis shuttle for door to door transportation within the Medical Center campus. Our newly designed lobby is great for connecting with small pods with televisions and our Bistro is open from 6:00 am (7am on weekends) to 10pm for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Market is also available 24 hours a day for grab and go snacks and drinks. As you, many guests are out early in the morning or later at night to get to and from appointments or visiting loved ones, and feel reassured that the campus has their own patrols. As the weather warms, many will enjoy our outdoor pool and spa, both equipped with ADA-approved lifts, with new pool furniture and heaters to relax in the beautiful Northern California evenings.Thank you again for taking the time to review the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown and we look forward to welcoming you back should travels bring you again to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel valley, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was clean, comfortable and quiet and an easy drive to the event we were attending at the Sac State. We also visited the zoo, the Crocker Museum and ended the evening in Folsom for dinner. All easy driving with a gps. Breakfast was very good and made starting our days easy.

My only recommendation... we had purchased our breakfasts with our stay through Hotel.com. I made sure I officially checked out with a receipt to make sure I wasn't charged a second time for the breakfasts, and sure enough... we were. They had to verify our reservation and take the charge off of our credit card, which took longer than I felt it should... but it was credited back. I haven't received the credit card statement to double check it, which I will.

This has happened to us before with on-line hotel reservations and we hadn't caught it. Once you have left the premises I find them not so helpful to "fix" the mistake. You are your only advocate. Save yourself the hassle and the extra charge by checking before you leave. Other than that... have a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFinerman-GM, General Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank of very much for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown on the UC Davis Med Center campus. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location near Sac State, UC Davis Medical Center, Shriner's Hospital and all major freeways provides easy access to all areas. We will review the process for breakfast coupon processing with our front desk staff to assure that everyone knows how to apply and do so properly. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us-we hope to welcome you back to the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown should travel bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The room smelled excessively of air freshener that most likely was meant to cover up some bad smell. The toilet plugged up once, they fixed it and it plugged up 3 more times. They gave me dinner to compensate. There is no restaurant in the facility, just a snack bar. The food was like something from Safeway deli - bagged Ceasar salad and frozen pizza. The phone in the room didn't work and neither did the remote control for the TV. There was no mini frig. The decor was depressing. This room was not cheap. The meeting room for a training that I attended was inadequate for the number of people attending the training. There aren't enough bathrooms on the main floor for all of the meeting rooms. The staff was nice and helpful.

Room Tip: THere was no breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardSacram... M, General Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am so very sorry about your recent stay, and we very much appreciate that you found our staff nice and helpful despite the issues. We will take your review to heart and make changes so future guests only experience the positive guest service. Our Bistro should have been open from 6 am- 10 pm. For dinner, we additionally offer a "Bistro Plus" menu with steak, seafood and pasta selections for more dining options at this particular Courtyard. Our staff works hard to resolve issues quickly, but in your case, that obviously did not happen, and we apologize. Should travel bring you back to the Sacramento area, you can be assured that changes will have been made as a result of you bringing these items to my attention. Thank you for taking the time to do so. Sincerely, Karen Finerman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Med Park
Hotel Med Park
#41 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sacramento Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sacramento Midtown

Property: Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Address: 4422 Y St, Sacramento, CA 95817-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#23 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sacramento Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sacramento Midtown is the perfect place to relax and recoup after visiting nearby downtown Sacramento. Our beautiful hotel is near the UC Davis Medical Center campus and perfect for both leisure and business travelers. Our spacious guess rooms are designed for guest comfort and feature warm colors to relax the mind. You'll find newly upgraded 32" flat screen TVs, desk area, coffee maker, two-line phone with speakerphone, voice mail and much more! On-site you'll find a business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, and whirlpool for your convenience. Our hotel also features on-site dining available at the Bistro, an American style cafe open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Bistro has a full service bar and proudly serves Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Sacramento Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sacramento Midtown Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Courtyard
Sacramento Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing