We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol Building”

California State Capitol and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Sacramento Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #3 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 19th-century granite building, modeled after the U.S. Capitol, is home to the California Legislature and houses a public museum.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Capitol Building”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I enjoyed the reburbished offices as they were in the early
1900s. I also enjoyed seeing the dioramas of the counties in California. The two house chambers are most impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Memaw45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    351
    55
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newark ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great history lesson”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was great to see how our government worked in the past and we were able to see the assembly and senate in session in the present.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lived here all my life and still learned things I never knew about our state capitol. My son is a 4th grader and it was required that we go, and I was glad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful California Capitol”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As a Californian, I was proud to see how beautiful the Capitol is. There are rooms that display what an office looked like many years ago. There are beautiful floors. We went to the two chambers and were impressed with how beautiful they are. There was lots of information about the various cities that make up California and a very different type of painting of Governor Jerry Brown after his second term back in the 70s. It's typical of him and we enjoyed it, as much as we enjoy him. Good place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The California capitol is one of the best looking ones in the US. It is great to walk around and the capitol park around the building is a nice walk also.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bkhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Capitol and Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Capitol and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing