We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel, could of had a better breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Med Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Med Park
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, could of had a better breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was not too bad, had beautiful rooms and furniture.

HOWEVER, IF YOU WANT TO PARK YOUR CAR BE SURE TO COME EARLY!
Checked in extremely late at night, had only one parking spot left in a corner surrounded by these weird structural columns! It was nearly impossible to get in without thinking I was going to scrape my car. (I already saw several paint scrapings from what looks like previous cars that have been scraped) *Keep in mind, I don't drive a huge car... I drive a small civic.

The night audit that checked us in was friendly... bothered him a few times for multiple things. :) So we thank him for his patience.


Had weird "vending machines" with not too many different choices.

Given we stayed there with my points, so didn't have too many problems. Just wish breakfast was better....

Room Tip: Either rent a small car, come early to park, or don't park at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Med Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Jennifer,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value our guests feedback and are taking strides towards providing an improved breakfast selection. We hope you will get a chance to enjoy it next time you're in town!

Our goal is to provide an excellent stay to each and every single one of our guest, so we appreciate when we are given feedback when something is not above your expectations. There are alternative parking options that our staff can guide you to aside from our underground parking, such as nearby street parking or the parking garage located across the street from our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the decor in our rooms and that our staff was able to assist you with your needs. Let me know if we can be of assistance if you happen to visit the Sacramento area again!

Best,

Jay Marquez
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916-455-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
12
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

While many stay here when visiting with family or friends at the medical center, the hotel is so centrally located to downtown Sacramento, that it makes it worth finding. I felt as if I were staying in a boutique hotel for the most part. The room was spacious and spotless. Bathroom amenities were very good and included bath salts. There is an in-room refrigerator. Both the manager, Heather, and one of the principal desk personnel, Antonio, went above and beyond to help us with everything. I found the complimentary continental breakfast adequate, but that was about it. I did not eat the muffins, but did have a yoghurt and granola each day.The coffee was good every day but one. (Too weak on one occasion.) Internet is complementary, which remains one of my necessities. The only concern with this place is the parking lot which is tricky to get into and shows abundant evidence of scraped car paint all over the walls. I doubt this is an impossible issue to address, but we never had a problem finding a place to park elsewhere for free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Med Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear LAPlatinum,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your time and your feedback. I'm glad that you were able to take full advantage of all the amenities we provide for you in our rooms and hotel. I have shared your positive feedback with our staff and they are very thankful for the individual acknowledgement! I do apologize about our tight parking, however, our staff is more than happy to guide you and all of our guest to appropriate places to where you may park.

We look forward to your next stay with us next time you happen to be in town, let us know if we can be of assistance with your future reservations!

Regards,

Jay Marquez
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916-455-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just stayed here for 3 nights w/husband & daughter. We were in town for a wedding & were at a TERRIBLE place for 1 night only. Looked everywhere for another hotel & boy were we glad to find this. It is CLEAN, MODERN, SMELLS GOOD, & we never had a parking problem. We were upgraded to a suite by the lovely front desk person, thank you, thank you. The towels were like brand new, the toiletries were great, there was an electrical outlet like every 4 feet, there were TWO flat screen tvs, 2 super comfy queen beds & a pull out sofa. There is a nice bkfst/lunch place only one minute down the street (Sunshine Cafe) but there is a continental breakfast at the hotel. Try it, you will like it.

Room Tip: You can get a validated parking pass over at a parking deck within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catbird370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here the night before my daughter's surgery. The hotel is located across the street from U.C. Davis Medical Center and Shriner's Children's Hosp. The rooms are very clean and comfortable...some even have a balcony w/chairs. The continental breakfast was fairly good and the front desk staff were very helpful. Our only complaint would be the awful parking situation. The underground garage is tiny, with lots of concrete pillars to negotiate around, which is tricky and possibly dangerous.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main street (Stockton Blvd.) for a quieter experience. The rooms have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for two nights in the past couple of months due to surgeries I've had at U.C. Davis Medical Center. Making a reservation is easy and they have always been available even last minute for me and my family. The first night I stayed in the hotel I was very pleased with the location being right across from the hospital entrance. I was actually able to crutch myself to the entrance to be admitted for surgery. There is not another hotel located this close so I recommend using Best Western if you are having surgery at U.C. Davis early in the morning. I live almost two hours away from the hospital and am under a specialist's care, so I had to stay over night in Sacramento. While going through surgeries and medical problems for the past ten months, I feel Best Western makes you feel very comfortable as you stay away from home. The only complaint I have is the parking structure is across the street and very inconvenient. The first night the parking lot under the hotel was packed, not to mention a very tight squeeze for even my small car to escape out of. There should be a sign saying parking is full if possible to prevent new arrivals from attempting to find a parking spot in the garage. I having crutches, had to park across the street late at night and then crutch back over. Luckily I did not feel that this area is dangerous, but I would have liked to know in advance the parking situation. This does not seem to be something that they can really address, but non the less I enjoyed my stay(s). The furniture is beautiful throughout the lobby and the rooms. There is a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, workout room, ice machine, Internet and a large patio. I would not change anything about the layout/design of the rooms as they are very modern (my preference), but possibly some tissues. I did not experience the free breakfast as I could not eat due to my surgeries. I mostly rested and found no trouble in falling asleep in the comfortable bed. My dad used the computer that was provided in a room I did not visit. The second evening that I stayed there- the staff had fresh baked chocolate chip fudge cookies- mmmmmm! I have to admit, I had a few too many considering I can't do any cardio. The cookies were in the lobby area- easy access and they kept them coming, even the next morning. The staff was courteous but not overly friendly. I think the graveyard staff was understandably tired, but they helped explain where the entrance to the hospital was. I would more than likely stay in the Best Western Inn again,but hopefully not due to medical issues!

Room Tip: There were no noise problems. I did enjoy the glass elevator that you can also see the hospital and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Horrible service. They are short staffed with one person working the front desk. In the middle of being checked in the one person was answering the phone several times and actually helping the people on the phone even though we were there first. Between standing there when we first came in and coming back later it took 1 hour to check in. Crazy! Horrible parking situation! If you have anything bigger then a smart car forget getting (fitting) and making it around the corner down into their parking garage. If you have a SUV they have two spots up top. We were told we could reserve the spot for when we came back by putting their orange cones in the spot only to find out when we came back the shift had changed, the cones had been removed, and someone parked in the spot. The staff person at the front desk argued that it was first come first serve and continued to argue with us. That was NOT what we were told! She offered for us to park two to three blocks away! We have a family of six and parking that far away carrying luggage just is not reasonable. Also, right next door in the shopping center it was observed that the security guard was carrying a gun. Wow! This means they have problems in the area. We checked out before we ever spent the night and will never come back again or recommend the place to anyone. Bad, bad, customer service argueing with customers. Don't stay here find somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Front Office Manager at Hotel Med Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Lynette,
Thank you for your comments. Your opinion is important to me. I would first off like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do have a very attentive staff that does their best to make each guest feel welcome. We did have a wedding party staying there which would have added to the wait. That is beside the point, I am sorry for your extensive wait for check -in was extensive. Also we did release you from obligation of the room when you expressed discontent.
As to your comments about the parking, our garage is “first come first serve”. But, we do offer alternative parking options. I am sorry our Front Desk staff should have offered more assistance in explaining all parking options and instructions. I have since trained our staff on relaying all parking information effectively to our guests. We are in the works for obtaining more parking to further accommodate our guests. I am not sure which shopping center is being referenced but, we are located in a pleasant area across from the UC Davis Med Center nestled between the East and Downtown Sacramento (both of which are “nice” areas).
Hope you will give us a chance again to create a more enjoyable stay for you!
For further assistance you may contact me at 916-455-4000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I wish this hotel was close by the water, because it was absolutely great otherwise, add water and it would be heaven.! Our only fault was with the food delivery service which was appalling, we went to another local service which turned out great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KootenayCountryInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcourt2011, Front Office Manager at Hotel Med Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear KootenayCountryInn,
Thank you, for your response. Although we are not on the water the Sacramento River is 7 miles away or 13minutes from our location.

Glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you will stay with us again soon!

Front Desk Manager
Kelly Jonasen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
#25 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
2.1 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#35 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown Sacramento
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#40 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
#3 of 15 in West Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Med Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Med Park

Property: Hotel Med Park
Address: 2356 Stockton Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95817-2228 (Formerly Med Park Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Med Park 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just minutes from Downtown and Old Town, this hotel is directly across the street from UC Davis Medical Center and Shriners Hospital For Children. We are close to CSU Sacramento, Fort Sutter State Historical Park, Cal Expo, and Arden Fair Mall. Each of our rooms and suites include a refrigerator, a microwave, and a personal safe. Our suites have a lovely balcony where you can get some fresh air or enjoy your view.Guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast each morning, which features make-your-own waffles. Wireless internet is complimentary and is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Med Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing