We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bistro with interesting if small menu”
Review of Plan B Restaurant

Plan B Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Plan B Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 2,018 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Watt Avenue @ Fair Oaks Blvd.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good bistro with interesting if small menu”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Good varied menu - fish, lamb, steak, pasta, and best mussels in town. Try them with pomme frites and white burgundy!
We have been there many times and love the place. Unpretentious but pleasant decor with great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEC140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You MUST give this a try!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I ate here with colleagues for work, and was wonderfully surprised. The wine selection is very good, the food is fabulous and service was exceptional. The appetizers were very flavorful, and mussels were divine. A colleague ordered the halibut, and it was cooked perfectly. The chocolate lava cake was very rich and yet light at the same time. We all left satisfied, but not weighted down with food coma. If you haven't eaten here you're missing out.... BIG TIME.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMSATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Plan B Gets an "A"”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Plan B is a small restaurant with a small sign and if you don't pay attention, you may miss it. The food, however, is first rate. I've dined there six+ times over the last few years and have enjoyed every meal.

Specializing in mussels, they offer six different preparations, all come with pomme frites (french fries). I like them all but if I had to choose a favorite, it would be Provencale. It also comes with plenty of fresh bread to partake in the rich, nap-inducing sauce, which would be a tragedy to leave any behind.

The Plan B Burger is a treat with Emmental cheese, wild mushrooms, a slice of aged ham and béarnaise sauce. It's also not huge thus you can eat it slowly, enjoying each component and not feeling overly full.

I'm a caesar lover, as well as salmon and when craving the two, they'll make me a special plate. The salmon has always been perfectly cooked to my liking, medium-rare.

If you enjoy lamb, the roasted rack is not to me missed. They also offer a handful of specials nightly. And, I think they are one of the few places in Sacramento to serve venison.

They offer a small but nice wine list with a few eclectic bottles including some from local Sacramento and Sierra foothill wineries. The house wine, both white and red, have never disappointed at a very reasonable price.

555 La Sierra Drive (Arden Towne Center at Fair Oaks & Watt)
Sacramento, CA
916.483.3000

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LWGandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly Excellent Experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My daughter and her husband took me to Plan B for my Birthday. It was my choice, and I was heavily dependent on the Reviews I read. It was a truly lovely experience from the excellent service to the quality of the food. Our waiter was attentive without hovering, the owner came and spoke to us to insure we were happy with the experience, and the food range was from very good to amazing. We were especially pleased with the tartlette, the mussels, and the creme brulee. As we left we were making plans to come back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clara33130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Absolute Jewel .. totally unexpected!!!"”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My wife and I just moved to Sacramento from Miami. We frequent fine restaurants all over the world with regularity. We came upon this community restaurant quite by accident, having moved into the area recently. The menu initially did not elicit particular excitement but we just wanted a real place to sit down on a sunday night. I was surprised on entering that I felt no different than if I had just entered a popular establishment in New York or San Francisco. We were met at the door with a friendly greeting and made to feel like we were welcome regulars. The ambiance and atmosphere was warm. The service was excellent and the owner visited every table to make sure things were perfect. We had the rack of lamb (one of their most popular dishes) as well as the pork tenderloin which was as good as I had ever had. The venison appetizer was absolutely delicious and an excellent recommendation by Lucas. This place ranks with THE best eateries I have been to in years. I highly recommend you try it.... don't let its location fool you!! I'm planning on being a regular here!!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prometheus7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plan B Restaurant also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Been to Plan B Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing