We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great way to spend an afternoon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American River Bicycle Trail

American River Bicycle Trail
Sacramento, CA
9162482660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 159 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the American Discovery Trail, this path is exclusively for non-motorized use, and it extends throughout the city.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Scenery is fabulous. Nice path along the river to walk or bike and many little trails taking you down to the rivers edge.My favorite area is along Hagan Park where you can stop and let the kids play at the park. A word of caution though if you are going with young children, the other cyclists can be very fast and aggressive. Some holler at you to move out of the way! So keep your children close and move them off to the side of the trail when a large group is approaching.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    62
    16
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roseville
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love the Bike Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The American River Bike trail is a fantastic. Lot's of beautiful scenery as you ride, run, walk or skate by the American River. As a warning, you must be paying attention since there can be some fast riding, particulalry on busy weekend mornings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ride the parkway all the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

You see everyone on the parkway: walkers, joggers, people with families, people with dogs and strollers but my big attraction is riding my bike there. I'm in a women's cycling club and we use the trail all year round. Just as a reminder: cyclists ride on the right side and walkers and joggers are suppossed to run or walk FACING traffic. This seems strange and many people don't do it but walking instructions are stenciled on the pavement. There are quite a few cyclists and we ride about 15 mph (which is the speed limit) so please obey the traffic instructions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy95630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
1 review
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The site was so beautiful. Also i come there every day to run and work outduring the day. So you should come and see the american river.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I ride my bicycle along this trail twice a week, about 15 miles in each direction from Discovery Park. So many times I would like to just pull off the trail and hike down to one of the secluded beaches in late summer and early fall. Picture perfect.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mcmemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Bicycle Trail also viewed

 

Been to American River Bicycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing