We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic riding”

American River Bicycle Trail
Ranked #4 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the American Discovery Trail, this path is exclusively for non-motorized use, and it extends throughout the city.
Acampo, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic riding”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We try to bike the American River Parkway at least twice a month, and have been doing so for years. We tend to park near REI, the college or the Watt entrance because miles 4-30 are our favorites. Seems the closer one rides to Folsum the more smiles and greeting you get from other riders. Below mile 4 hardly anyone says hello and it is a sketchy area. We have biked the parkway one way and used the light rail to get back to our car. We have seen as many as 14 deer on a ride, removed rattlesnakes off the trail twice, love watching the salmon run in Oct-December. Only problem that has ever occurred is my husband was hit by a slingshot once. Lots of wonderful people use the parkway but it is not overused like the bike trail I took in Seattle once, that was congested. We have seen an increase in use of the bike trail by bikers, walkers, joggers and an occasional skater. We try not to use it on weekends preferring the quietness of weekdays. Great birding, biking and there are many access points. We even did a stayvacation and took a niece and 3 nephews for three days of riding (ages 7-11), swimming and hiking...they did 37 miles one day and I will always be beholden to a bikehiker who stopped and asked them how far they were riding then nearly fell over when they said we were on mile 30 and still had more miles to go. He made them feel so proud of themselves. It is great for children to ride but make sure to have them follow the rules. most bikers are careful and mindful that children may be riding but a few riders go way to fast for a bike trail.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maryspond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    92
    17
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very nice bike trail”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

32 mile paved trail runs from Old Sacramento to Folsom Lake. Many entry points and intersects several major roads. There are port a johns and some drinking fountains also along this trail. Just a few words of caution - occasionally there are some more serious bikers who are going too fast so if you are biking with young kids and moving more slowly, keep a look out. Also, there are some parts of this trail that may not be that safe for women to ride by themselves. I don't mean to sound paranoid or make it seem like you are riding through a slum, but I am just being honest. I would not want my wife riding by herself through some parts of this trail especially when there are fewer people around (weekdays during the day?). Here is weblink for more info -

http://www.traillink.com/trailsearch.aspx?city=Sacramento&state=CA&keyword=American+River+Bike+Trail

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RevfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a homeless camp”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I still feel safe here during the day. The trail is paved and great for walkers, joggers and bike riders. Unfortunately near the downtown, more homeless people seem to camp.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome bike trails!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Some of the best biking trails are in and about the Folsom area! You can bike from the American River right down to Folsom Lake. Stop and have a picnic along the way on the edge of the water, Trails are paved and smooth or you can take a dirt trail for a more scenic route!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pnkdrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An easy, but fun ride”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we have ridden this trail a number of times. it is well maintained and the views of the river and countryside atre grand

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rpassmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Bicycle Trail also viewed

 

Been to American River Bicycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing