We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the weekend bicyclist”

American River Bicycle Trail
Ranked #4 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the American Discovery Trail, this path is exclusively for non-motorized use, and it extends throughout the city.
Rohnert Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for the weekend bicyclist”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We did a ride from Old Town Sacremento to Sacremento State aprox. 7miles , 14 round trip. The pavement goes all the way there. Signs show you where you are and markers show you how far you have been. There is a small loop or you can go far. The one person I talked to had parked their car off at one end of the trail a drove the car to the begining of the trail and well you get the picture. There is places you can stop and swim -have a picnic- or what ever. Lots of people use it so it feels safe. but I did see a few shaddy charecters . overall it's great to just do a continous ride without having to worry about trafic lights and trafic and you can see wildlife and pick berries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    95
    18
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Get outside and see a different view of the city.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We rented "Cruisers" at Practical Cycle on J st. in Old Sacramento and spent a leisurely 2 hrs. on the Amercian River Bicycle Trail, which goes for over 30 miles from Old Sac to Folsom. Cost $10 pp for 2 hrs. includes helmet, lock and basket. A flat paved trail shared with rollerbladers and joggers, with several opportunites for crossings, bridge turnouts or stops for picnicking. An enjoyable morning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NHwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whenever I leave Sacramento, I miss this trail the most.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've lived overseas twice (Asia and Europe) and NOTHING compares to the natural beauty and calm of running or riding along this trail.

I recently returned from living abroad and I've been on the trail almost every day since.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“American River Bike Trail”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Safe place to ride your bike or go for a walk along the American River and not deal with traffic. There are many places to enter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SacTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchestter, Englaned
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You have to travel too far to get a good bike ride”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Bikes really good, but it is a good 5 miles until you get to anywhere that is scenic, unless you think the park is. We met a lady who lives in Sacremento and regularly travels this bicyle trail for work, she told us she always carries mace as a protection, which put us off a bit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Bicycle Trail also viewed

 

Been to American River Bicycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing