We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art Deco treasure.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crest Theater

Crest Theater
Ranked #2 of 26 Fun & Games in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1949, the spectacular Crest quickly became the city's top theater, which it remains today.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Art Deco treasure.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you love art deco ( it was restored a few yrs ago), and dont want to go to a performance, yu might ask to be able to check out the lobby.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alphasort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    37
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“step back to the thirties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Funky old theater that still retains a lot of the Art Deco flair. The bathrooms seem to be unmodified and show original tile and decor. Film selection tends to rather eclectic, featuring many independent film makers.
Do not miss the restaurant right next door! Fantastic food! Eating outside is pleasant

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bnjmartin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Happy Together Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The show included Gary Lewis, Mark Lindsay, Gary Puckett, Chuck Negron of Three Dog Night and the Turtles. It was one of the best shows I've seen. It was a birthday present to my husband and he loved the show. The theater is really beautiful too. The seats could be a little wider though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weyesowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Venue - Until the show starts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently saw Cyndi Lauper here and had wheelchair seating in the back of the main section. The seats were great until the show started and everyone stood up. I'm used to this however and politely asked the gentleman in front of me to stand just a few inches over and then I was able to get glimpses between the two sets of shoulders when she came to that side of the stage. That would have (mostly) worked except no one stayed in their seats and by that I mean that people were coming down from the much higher (and cheaper) seats to stand and crowd directly in front of the stage. People were in the aisles and all up against the stage for the entire show with not one word from the staff. Aside from the obvious fire hazard, the people who paid for the expensive seats now found their view blocked. The people in front of me kept having to shift to see and that meant that I spent most of the show staring at their shirts. The no photos or recording policy was blatantly disregarded as well; there was a guy who recorded the entire show not 5 feet from a security guard. I guess I shouldn't complain about that because some of my best glimpses of her came from phone screens. Guess next time I'll pay a lot less and then just shove my way to the front like everyone else. The staff doesn't seem to care.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMarie0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the last beautiful theaters you'll find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Crest is of the vintage theater years. It has been beautifully restored and is in lovely condition. It features specialty films that attract a more sophisticated film-going clientele. Seats are comfortable, acoustics very good and décor is art deco with a hint of California culture. Always a treat to attend a film, festival or live performance at the Crest.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crest Theater also viewed

 

Been to Crest Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing