We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tree filled multi-use area with woodland creatures”

American River Parkway
Ranked #13 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A picturesque 23-mile stretch of land along the American River that offers visitors wonderful scenic beauty.
Westchester (LA), CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful tree filled multi-use area with woodland creatures”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Enjoyed this Parkway immensely from the Eastern portion where it connects with the Southern edge of Nimbus Flat recreation area (Lake Natoma) over to about 3-4 miles West of the fish hatchery. It was a lovely Saturday in Spring and in my short bike ride I saw egrets, ducks, 2 wild tom turkeys, a jack rabbit, squirrels and blue jays. What an incredible experience. The path is wide with dirt edges for the pedestrians to walk/jog next to the paved path, which is marked with mileage markers. I recommend this Parkway to tourists and nature-lovers as well as locals. There are also picnic tables set strategically throughout the area to enjoy the water's edge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank socaltravelmom_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bum highway”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a great place to observe farrell humans living in the beautiful trees that line one of Sacramento's hidden treasures, the American River. Trash and human excrement line the trail and river's edge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My favorite part of living in Sacramento”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have lived within a 5 minute walk of the American River trail for 11 years. The trail offers so much more than just the biking, walking and hiking that its known for. The bike trail is a place where Sacramentans enjoy nature and eachother in our own communal backyard. It is our neighborhood, our flavor and our love. Walking groups abound on weekend mornings, festivals and races keep it lively and the presence of fisherman lined up in their waders early in the morning keep it very real.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
623 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“perfect for walking and cycling”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The weekends are a bit overcrowded, esp in the summer, but weekdays for cycling are fine, and walking is almost always less crowded. YOu can get off the main path and go on the dirt, and the atmosphere is nice with quiet, greenery, and and outdoorsy feel even tho you are in a city

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A true paradise in the city”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The parkway is so important as a place for recreation and to be close to nature. We even chose our home in part to be within walking distance of this treasure in Sacramento! Love to take bike rides up to Folsom or down to Old Sac.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriKSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Parkway also viewed

 

Been to American River Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing