We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful local auto museum!”

California Automobile Museum
Ranked #8 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of the California Automobile Museum is to educate and entertain while preserving and promoting the automobile and its influence on our lives. The Museum is open daily from 10am - 6pm (last admission 5pm) and every 3rd Thursday until 9pm.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful local auto museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are lucky to have this auto museum in our city. It houses a vast array of vintage autos and an eclectic mix of mid century cars. You never know what you will find there as the contents change. They also have different themed shows. Last year they had a fabulous exhibit of "Cars of the Autobahn" including some rare Porsche, Audi, BMW and Benz. Something to do on a weekend or if you are visiting Sacramento. It is close to Old Town and easy to get to and free parking!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank claudia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    70
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great way to learn automobile history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The museum is pretty large with nice collection of great cars. The best things is that you can get private guide "doctor" who for free will walk you around museum for around 2 hours. At the end you can even buy some classic cars !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mmisiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cars cars cars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our last visit was for the Volkswagon exhibit. My kids are big "bug" fans, so they were thrilled. We missed the big display of them all out in another lot somewhere and were bummed about that. I've been visiting this museum since I was little when it was the Towe Ford Museum. It still looks the same! Same leaky roof and cold concrete, room, but I still enjoy it and so does my family. We love the history and appreciate the volunteers who are there to offer lots of great information.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cameo1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A hidden treaure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This museum is a few blocks away from Old Sacramento, but well worth seeking out if you like antique and historic automobiles. Originally the 'Towe Ford Collection', the museum now displays all makes and models of interesting vehicles. The staff, including volunteers, are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Check it out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1947-FORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a selection of historic vehicles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Getting up close and personal with vehicles from pre 1900 to modern electric technology was never more convenient that at this setting. Special exhibits feature themes and special events are hosted here, like a recent electric vehicle and technology symposium.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to California Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing