We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very personal and helpful at checkin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very personal and helpful at checkin”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

After a long drive, this hotel really hit the spot. Check in was fast, given a nice spacious clean room.
The breakfast included was of good quality. Eggs, yoghurt, bagels and other pastries plus individual fresh juices in the fridge (a nice touch - not from a dispenser). A nice start to the morning. Lots of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthereVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    141
    57
    16
    3
See reviews for
123
110
37
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Check in was just ok. No personal touch, just check in and go. Not personable. However, depends who you get. Other rep did a great job with her guest. Key card did not work multiple times. Had to go down to the lobby a few times to get it corrected. Kitchen was dated. Spacious room. TV worked great. Bed was comfortable. Would have liked better lighting in the kitchen and bathroom. View was of the dumpsters. Asked to be moved. Was called back by the nice representative within 5 minutes from the front desk of an available room next to the elevator. Kept the room. Appreciated she tried. Light breakfast was great for on the go. Many healthy choices. Parking was ample. Hotel is on a busy street-so expect delays. Air conditioning was pretty loud. Overall, could have been better. Being a busy hotel during the week, expect some lack of room selections and delays. TIP: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Critic1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Bravo to the staff at Larkspur Landing. It's rare to find such genuine and attentive customer service-oriented staff. When I arrived there was someone being helped at check in. Another staff member came right over to help. I was soon checked in by not one, but two very polite young women. Although I thought the question, "Are you visiting us for any particular reason?" a bit invasive, I think it was asked with good intentions.

My room was very large and the bed the most comfortable I've slept in. It's true, the cabinets are a bit worn and the desk chair is begging for retirement, the room was functional and comfortable.

I heard no noise during the night, slept well and with temps nearing 100 degrees, was very thankful for the air conditioner.

Great job all around and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele_Emeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I just plain like Sacramento. It is almost the perfect town for me: A vast web of verdantly green, tree-canopied inner city residential neighborhoods out of some mid-American dreamscape bordered evenly with well-stocked strip malls -- who wouldn't want to live where Starbucks, Chevron and at least one great Chinese restaurant are within a 3 minute drive? Anyway, I wax to poetic over the River City. So, when a recent family event required we find a local hotel rather than our regular sofa bed, I was looking forward to the opportunity. Sacramento is nose to toes in lots of nice, modern, middle-American motel/hotel chains and one offs, all at reasonable prices. We picked based on three things: 1) Location, 2) Amenities (which included a typical "all suites" breakfast buffet and 3), of course, price. I was delighted to discover this adorable little "craftsman" styled chain of California-based hotels called Larkspur. Hey, I'm a bay area boy, so who wouldn't go for this? Location was the driving factor, right around the corner from where we needed to be, price was right in the middle of the road (with tax, $147 -- definitely not cheap, but not the $200 that a top of the line place would charge) and, as for amenities, here is their description, from their own website, of their "Healthy Start Breakfast":

Experts say breakfast is the most important meal of the day—and so does Larkspur Landing Sacramento. Our Healthy Start Continental Breakfast features an assortment of fresh, seasonal fruits, cereals, succulent pastries, bagels and English muffins, regular and light yogurts, waffles, delectable cheeses, and more. With healthy options available seven days per week, you’ll have the energy you need to tackle the day, whether you’re in back-to-back meetings or relaxing in our whirlpool spa.

Step back, here comes the petty meter! Do you see the word "waffles" in there? We sure did. It was -- I freely admit -- part of our purchase decision. So, how horrified were we this morning to discover there were no waffles. Nope, not OUT of waffles, there wasn't a waffle maker in sight. That's just plain old bait and switch.

On top of this, the "Studio Suite," while having a lovely kitchenette, was smaller than your average hotel room. I mean, there was almost zero floor space in this room.

Aha, now I understand what my $50 save got me -- a smaller room and no waffles. Petty? You betcha. This was a one off chance to have a lovely experience in Sacto and I am left wanting waffles. Ugh. Double Ugh.

Let's add on top of it the chat this morning upon checkout. I look at the nice young man and say, "oh, by the way, the desk chair...." He interrupts and says " yes, we know, they're all falling apart like that. We have new chairs on order for the entire chain, but it's going to be four to six months." Did I mention the faux leather chair covering was peeling off like a bad sunburn on day 6? Yes, friends, it was just gross. But, not gross enough to be taken out of the room! Hey, the room was lovely -- nice fixtures, lovely bed, nice and clean, a TV meant for a much bigger room placed in ours by mistake, I'm sure, lovely soaps (tiny room -- oops, I said that), and then this completely disgusting, scuzzy, peeling, flaking chair. Really? Big ooops.

Points to Larkspur for their lovely crafstman theme -- better in the lobby than in the rooms, where lack of space made it difficult to have a 2nd bedside table and thus the towering craftsman floor lamp. But a nice lamp...

I did not make it to the fitness center (totally my fault), I did not make it to the signature whirlpool (very cute and california, but I'm sure most Sacto visitors would prefer a real pool, particularly this coming summer). It was a lovely location and I slept well.

But, no waffles and the chair from hell. Folks at Larkspur, it's the little things that count.

And while I'm on THAT rant, how long is it going to take the hotel industry to figure out that guests want at least one extra plug next to the bed. I had to go nightstand diving (always risky to the housekeeping critique) to unplug the non iphone 5 capable clock radio so I could plug in my iphone 5 with alarm app. lucky I didn't pull a muscle.

Would I go back? Not until they make good on the website promise of waffles (oh, by the way folks, no cheese either, if you're taking them literally)/.

Room Tip: Tanya at the front desk was a delight! She must live in the back because she checked us in at 9 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed six nights while visiting family in Sacramento. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. It is located near a busy street, but is situated at the back of a parking lot so the noise of the street is not heard at the hotel. I found the setting to be peaceful and relaxing. I felt safe in my surroundings (important to a woman traveling alone). The staff is respectful and polite and go out of their way to assist guests as needed. The room was very clean, with ample space. The breakfast had a wide variety of choices with some options changing daily. The rates are reasonable, and I will definitely stay at this hotel again on another visit to Sacramento.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dday2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine CA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nts. Really liked the location. Out of downtown yet close to everything including American River Bike Trail. Breakfast good. Enjoyed DVR- Reb Box rental close. Room smaller than we expected. Nt stand on one side only. Only criticism: The arms on the arm chairs in lounge area were filthy. Time to recover or replace.

Room Tip: Ask for view of trees if you like that..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indeptravelforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

For a two day trip, one night, trip to Sacramento, for Oncology appointments, we stayed at Larkspur Landing due to the location being convenient for us and the favorable reviews at this web site. It is an all suite hotel, and we had an executive suite with king bed. The room was spacious, quiet, with good air conditioner (it was 100 degrees that day), providing two T.V. screens, wired and wireless internet access, spa, complete kitchen facilities and nice A.M. limited breakfast. Some furniture was a bit worn, the Kleenex was limited, the toilet tissue was like thin sandpaper and there was no local phone book or hotel "guide" in the room. Overall, it was a pleasant place to stay, and we will return, if we go back to Sacramento. There are numerous, excellent restaurants nearby, as well as shopping centers, gas stations, and access to I-50 and I-80. When we return, will bring our own Kleenex and toilet tissue. The rate was quite acceptable. I believe they gave us a discount for seniors, or for CSAA or AARP.

Room Tip: Suite selection is according to type of bed needed. For A.M. courtesy breakfast, show up by 9 A.M.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flitzer170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,612 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkspur Landing Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sacramento

Property: Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Address: 555 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sacramento 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sacramento hotel is ideal for every kind of traveler. It is conveniently located near Highway 50, California State University Sacramento and is within 3 miles of downtown Sacramento. The charming hotel in Sacramento boasts a proximity to local attractions like Cal Expo, Arco Arena, and the Sacramento County Fairgrounds. Guests of this Sacramento Hotel enjoy excellent amenities that'll make you feel at home. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, this Sacramento extended stay hotel offers unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Larkspur Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing