We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Moved here after a dreadful motel 6 experience as they had a great deal. Location is ok. Next to freeway and plenty of eateries. I guess you stay here for convenience. V v friendly welcome and throughout the stay. Rooms v well equipped with full kitchen, desk, wifi etc. coffee maker. Breakfast was self serve and basic but absolutely fine. Free laundry, gym, hot tub, cookies, newspaper, fruit all added to the perceives value. My only gripe would be the noise from the freeway and the fridge. The walls also aren't that thick and could hear the guy next door snoring (could have been worse!). Request a room away from freeway.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 453 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

This motel is about 15 minutes from downtown or less if you take the freeway. It is very pleasant and is situated in a quiet area with some eateries minutes away. The room we had for 4 nights was a suite with a large living area, double bed, business table, large bathroom, and the room also offered a dishwasher, microwave, full sized refrigerator, sink, cooking utensils, and coffee maker and also provided free wifi. The hotel also offered an inclusive continental breakfast, which we found most satisfactory. It seemed to suit many others as well in the front of foyer room set aside. There were numerous cereals in prepacked containers (I did have trouble finding one some mornings as the cereals were often usually sweet and being Australian, where these are less obvious, I go for something a more healthy), pastries, bagels, toast, jams, juice, fruit, yoghurt, coffee and tea. Everything you need to start the day was there, and you could always take out some fruit, juice or pastry. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our only complaint was being woken at 5.30am with the sound of someone in the room above us doing a workout and running with thumping noises. In general, the whole place was very comfortable and economically priced.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor will prevent noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Trip Advisor, this is the first time you've let me down. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I found this property to be dated and not too comfortable. Then information I found online indicates the property was built in the late 1990s, but the kitchen and bath in my studio looked much more like the late 1970s. The front desk staff was very friendly, and the cookies were a nice touch, but the bed was uncomfortable and it was hard to get over the musty smell in my room. The breakfast was disappointing--it basically consisted of bagels. I've had better luck at the Residence Inn on Howe. Sorry to be a Debbie Downer on this one.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank exhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here two nights in February. It was pretty darned cold overnight, but our room was cozy and warm without having to turn on the heater. We were on the top floor (4th) so noise was not a problem except for the refrigerator which we ended up turning off for the night.

The clean kitchenette is adequate with a microwave, stovetop, coffeemaker and basic dishes and utensils. The fridge's freezer ice maker is disconnected so ice must be retrieved from the first floor ice machine.

The queen bed was comfy and had no comforter which I liked since I'm suspicious of hotel comforters! We were plenty warm without one.

The TV reception was good but even with DirectTV, there was no high def. Internet service was free but the speed was slow. The desk was roomy, and there were plenty of drawers in the armoire and bathroom vanity for personal storage. A small closet is at the room's entrance. The bathroom with tub shower was clean and the toiletries provided included lotion, soap, shampoo and conditioner. A blowdryer is provided as well as an iron.

The front desk had trays of complimentary apples and chocolate chip cookies...very nice! We didn't enjoy the hotel breakfast since we loved the breakfasts next door at Mel's Original Diner (based on the diner in "American Graffiti"). A Fresh Choice Restaurant is next door, too, and we had dinner there once. A Starbucks is close by, as well as a shopping mall.

The staff was friendly, there was plenty of free parking, and there are free computers in the attractive lobby with available printer, handy for boarding passes. A guest laundry was available as was a workout room

Overall, Larkspur Landing is a nice place to stay. I was impressed with its cleanliness and so will return next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: A 4th floor (top floor) will help ensure a quieter room. No picturesque views from any side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mercedcampgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

First, this is just not the best place to stay in Sacramento. For several years, the regional office I reported to was in Sacramento and I stayed in a number of hotels while in town on business. My favorite? The Hilton Garden Inn (decent prices, very quiet, very comfortable beds, decent food on site). Their prices are a bit higher than the Larkspur, however, and they've become popular over the years so getting in can be a little tougher.

At the Larkspur, we stayed in a room with a queen sized bed, so it may not have been their largest room. It had adequate space, nothing more than most American hotels these days. The bed was comfortable, but nothing really to distinguish it from other average beds.

Our room was very clean and the bathroom large and also very clean, two plusses in my book. We were just staying a day, so all of the kitchen facilities were wasted on us as we had no use for them. If we would have been staying several days, having a large refrigerator, decent stove, and dishwasher would have been handy. For us, they only ate up space and the fridge was noisy at night. Having free laundry service on site was a plus.

The room itself was pretty dated and definitely could have used updating. When we booked the room, we were told they recently installed larger flat panel TV's, but didn't say they only had basic cable so the larger screen only accentuated the grainy picture. They had both wired and wireless Internet access which was nice and even had an ethernet cable in the room which was thoughtful. Basic access was free and very adequate for email and Web browsing. You could pay for higher speed access if you needed it.

There are signs posted to let guests know that they have sensors to let them know if any of the in-room electronics (e.g. TV) are tampered with. The kitchen isn't overly stocked so it you need to borrow a cork screw, you have to sign out for it and agree to pay for it if not returned. Both of these factors made us a little less comfortable with the hotel. They did tell us they had security patrolling the parking lot at night.

We paid $125 for the night, mid-week, off season, which we felt was high given the quality of the room.

The biggest plus was the breakfast. Fresh fruit, good selection of yogurts, plenty of choices for bagels, nice assortment of cold cereals, good selection of bottled juices, and good coffee.

Bottom line: Would we stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacNWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had s "suite" for 2 nites. I've learned a suite doesnt always mean a separate sitting area, which I like because my wife and I have different schedules. Buit, all in all, a very nice stay. Quiet rooms. Comfortable rooms. Just OK breakfast. Not a lot of extra amenities, but for the price, very nice. Will stay again. A bit off the street so keep a llokout for the Mel's Diner in front when trying to find it.
Nice, accomodating staff. Had heavy footed folks above me, so you mite want to opt for top floor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our family spent just one night at the hotel. We wish that we could stay more. The room was well designed to fit 2 bedrooms, living and kitchen in one. But, who bother to cook since they have everything you need in the lobby - all day snack and breakfast, just like B&B. Also provided was guest laundry room, very convenient if you were on the road just like us. We had a good night sleep, thanks to the most comfortable beds of all hotels!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asianchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#36 of 82 in Sacramento
290 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,737 reviews
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkspur Landing Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sacramento

Address: 555 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $108 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sacramento 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sacramento hotel is ideal for every kind of traveler. It is conveniently located near Highway 50, California State University Sacramento and is within 3 miles of downtown Sacramento. The charming hotel in Sacramento boasts a proximity to local attractions like Cal Expo, Arco Arena, and the Sacramento County Fairgrounds. Guests of this Sacramento Hotel enjoy excellent amenities that'll make you feel at home. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, this Sacramento extended stay hotel offers unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Larkspur Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing