We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very understanding staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stay at this IHG property about every 8 weeks while I am traveling to Sacramento on business. Each time the staff has been very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff is a welcome sight after a long or difficult day of travel or meetings. On my most recent stay I managed to mix up the date of stay on my reservation, and did not show up on the day I told them I expected to arrive. I showed up without a reservation the next night, and they managed to not only get me a room, but not charge me for the no show the night before. Thank you HIE Staff!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJBAJBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to every opportunity we get to make your life a little less hectic. All of us here enjoy seeing our guests return on a regular basis and are glad you feel the same way. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

My stay with this IHG property was a first. It was a very pleasant stay. The whole staff everyone from the front desk staff to the housekeepers and even the owner welcomed us all with warm smiles. The managers reception was delicious the same with the breakfast. The overall stay with the clean and comfortable rooms and great staff made this a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bj4954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could should show you what our brand is all about. Thank you so much for your great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have traveled throughout the country and overseas and this has got to be the best hotel staff that I have ever met. My group and I had the pleasure of meeting Monique, Samantha, Jamie and Violet to name a few. These ladies do it all with a smile. They went out of their way to make sure we felt right at home. I can't forget to mention the Social Hour on Tuesday and Wednesday night. Even the housecleaning ladies were exceptionally nice. This was my first visit to Sacramento and these ladies made sure we got a real taste of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaeJae15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you so much for all your compliments! I have made sure all of our staff members were recognized and rewarded for their great service. I am very happy you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Coming back from a snowboarding trip with some friends the helpful staff and delicious breakfast made for a very pleasant stay. The staff was very attentive and very responsive to all of my needs. The front desk staff is very good at making their guests feel welcome. Housekeeping was very friendly and the breakfast attendant made sure everything was going smoothly for us and made sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were clean I couldn't have asked for more. I will make sure to stay at this Holiday Inn Express property next time I am in Sacramento.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnygillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Our main goal is to make our guests feel welcomed, recognized and comfortable. I am very glad we were able to reach our goal during your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A checked-out staff both on arrival and at departure force me to give this proprty a mediocre-only review. Let me start by stating our stay was for one quick night on a drive south from Oregon to California; and our only requirement was for clean and quiet. This property failed on one count. The well-appointed and spacious room had a serious design flaw that prevents me from gushing about it. Not quite sure whether it was flashing, decoration or a downspout attached to exterior of the hotel, but it was not secured so it rattled in the rain all night long. All. Night. Long. We were in a corner room on the second floor but friends in another interior room heard the noise as well. It kept both parties thinking someone was dragging laundry carts across the parking lot the entire night. Quite the rattle.
That alone was annoying, but it was the hotel running out of hot water that torqued us the most, and the callous attitude of the morning front-desk staff that compounded the problem - especially since this is a chain that reminds its guests to give the staff the opportunity to make a stay right.
I had the third of three showers in our room, and my hot water went cool thrice.
Our friends had no hot water at all. When we reported it to the front desk staff when we reunited for breakfast, we were met with blank stares and not even a token attempt to rectify or apologize for the inconvenience. And I'm a Priority Club member!
Additionally, the breakfast chafing dishes were not kept stocked with the hot items, so only half of our party was able to enjoy them.
This particular property is overpriced given that it is not on Interstate 5, but along the more obscure Business 80 route. We paid around $120; should be in the $89 range.
We will try another hotel on our next drive south.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamCurrie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide a clean, quiet, comfortable place to relax and a great hot breakfast in the morning. We have addressed the noise issue from the downspouts so this should not be a problem in the future. We have not had any issues with hot water in the past, as we are a newly constructed Hotel, but we will continue to monitor to ensure 100% guest satisfaction. I apologize for the way the situation was handled and will be addressing it with the front desk staff. We appreciate your feedback and use all comments as a way to learn and improve our services for the future. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As a government employee, it is often hard to find a good hotel value within our allowed per diem. However, my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express on Auburn Avenue in Sacramento was very pleasant. The facility is almost new, and is conveniently located near both my work objective and other amenities like good restaurants and major roads. The room was impeccable, the breakfast was very good, though predictable. The staff was very friendly and helped expedite check-in/check-out. The business computers were very suitable and worked flawlessly. The property was quiet and the bed was comfortable.
Another unknown feature of the hotel is the availability of meeting rooms, which were ample.
Parking was also adequate and convenient, and free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass on on the great comments to the staff. We will always honor the Government rate when business brings you to the Sacramento area. We look forward to your stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our traveling group of four stayed two nights in September. We found our reservations in good order and honored. The lobby and rooms were clean and neat. The bedding and furnishings are nice and make for an excellent night.
We did observe a group of kids staying near us that appeared to be some kind of sports team. We were concerned that it might be a noisy night. It was not...
The hotel is quite close to the highway. We stayed in one of the closest rooms to the road. Our home is on an interstate so traffic noise is no issue for us, but it might be for someone used to total quiet. Simple solution is to ask for a room further from the front of the property.
We found the breakfast area clean and the breakfast bar well supplied and the hot food hot.
This is an excellent hotel we would recommend.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to highway noise, request a room further from the front of the hotel, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrankyOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique E, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves in making all our guests feel welcomed and relaxed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#36 of 82 in Sacramento
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
#20 of 82 in Sacramento
234 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo

Address: 2224 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $104 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Sacramento Northeast, Cal Expo Area.The hotel is conveniently located off I-80 East, Capital City Freeway, just minutes away from Sacramento Airport, the Sacramento City Center, and the Convention Center. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from world class shopping, dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Sacramento has to offer. Our complimentary area and airport shuttle will pick you up!No matter what brings you to the Sacramento area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include Sacramento State University, NEC, HP, and Kaiser. Nearby attractions include Sacramento Zoo, Cal Expo, and Casino Royal and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sacramento Ne Cal Expo
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento
Motel 6 Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing