We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Management and Customer service Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
“Management and Customer service Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The manager changes rules over night. They want 100.00 deposit with each reservation even if your adding nights to original reservation without leaving, and they still have a hold on your money. If you ask for corporates number the manager will tell you she can't rent to you and put you on a DO NOT RENT LIST. They are always out of clean towels and sheets, if something's broke in your room good luck in getting maintenance to fix it and God forbid if you ask to move rooms for any reason at all because the manager will not move you. They are painting the outside of building and are still renting rooms in construction area and have the ordasity to get mad and ban you from hotel if you complain. I woke up and went outside and ran into plastic covering my door. The spiders are really bad and they have not sprayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 916_Sac_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikaela Z, Manager at Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

It was disheartening to read that we were unable to accommodate your needs; however, I am so happy to let you know that we finishing up our renovations and improvement in our hotel.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    18
    17
    28
See reviews for
12
9
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this location in advance because of its proximity off I-5 for a long trip down California. Unlike some reviewer I have had a lot of experience with Extended Stay hotels of various brands so I have proper expectations. Some people expect them to be a something they're not.

This property was formerly a different brand, and after moving over to ESA it appears they are making significant improvements. They are currently undergoing an exterior painting project through September 2013, which can be a minor nuisance for current guests, but shows an overall commitment to ensuring the property is in good condition.

The king bedding was of good overall quality for this type of hotel. And the amenities, such as a full mini-kitchen, complete with stove and fridge are typical for an extended stay property.

There were a couple of set backs for this specific experience...
1) We are a family of 4, and specifically selected the king with sleeper sofa option. However upon arrival the sleeper sofa didn't have any bed linen available, nor pillows. Typically you'll find these in the closet - however that was not the case. Im sure we could have called down for them, but it was easier to just put the kids to bed using their 'themed kiddie sleeping bags' which they brought with them. So it really wasn't an issue; and easier than calling down to have this resolved. With that said, it would have been nice for the staff to realize that this might be a need and anticipated this.
2) Minor, but the sofa had a 2 inch tear on it, and could/should be fairly easy to be repaired. This is a minor issue, but can turn into a bigger issue. But seriously, if I'm getting this picky, you'll understand that this was really a good experience and overall great condition.
3) In the bathroom there was no tray for the bar-soap so it just sat on the counter, pooling up -- probably just missing this accessory... Or it might be an oversight...

But all in all, it was clean, comfortable (enough) and was generally prepared for our stay.

Nothing stood out really good or bad, just an average stay and we received what we expected. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel has three buildings, be sure to request building one or two; the third building is closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikaela Z, Manager at Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a informative review.

Please accept our appologies that we were unable to anticipate your needs; however I am glad to read that you were pleased with the overall standards of Exended Stay in our hotel.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at this property on two separate nights within the same week. One room was quite nice and the other awful. The first room was a larger suite. It smelled of smoke. The carpet should have been replaced long ago, due to all of the spots. The couch was old and dirty, so I did not sit on it. The walls needed paint. The sink did not drain well, and the door lock did not function properly. And then there was a large spot on the ceiling over the bed that looked like barbecue sauce. There was not even a bar of soap in the room so I had to request one at the front desk. The second room was smaller and really not bad at all for a bargain hotel. It was much cleaner.

The hotel is located in an office park area. I found it odd that there were people at the far edge of the parking lot drinking beer and cooking dinner on a barbecue grill. The Wi-Fi worked well.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first as they obviously vary greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikaela Z, Manager at Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that your first stay were not up to standards. Still, we are glad to know that your second stay was far better and that we were able to show what our standards should be.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Rooms are fully furniture. Very comfortable, flat screen TV's, and Clean.
The location was convenient. Looking forward to staying again! I would recommend
staying in any Extended Stay America. Food and shopping was made easy by Two
major freeways. The outside parking area was well light and maintained. The staff
were always on hand for my every request. They updated my reservation to include
my senior discount, saving me time and money! As a result, when I travel I will look
at Extended Stay America's web site First!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikaela Z, Manager at Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review.
We are so happy we were able to accomidate you well and saved you some money.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were on a budget so this spot fit what we wanted to spend. Luckily we only stayed one night. The room felt old and not very clean. Not comfortable for a long stay I imagine.

Our refrigerator did not work do the perk of a full kitchen was not experienced.

If you are looking for an average, inexpensive hotel this is it. But don't spend much time in the room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Mike and Katie - Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize that our hotel didn't meet your expectations. Please know, our hotel will be going through a full renovation soon that will help our property look new and have an updated feel. In the meantime, we will work harder to ensure our guests are provided with a comfortable, clean room.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at 916 564-750, so we can speak directly. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We loved the place. The room or suite was very clean. It had all the basic amentites we needed to make our stay worthwhilel. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and efficient. They were professional and showed confidence and cempetence in doing their jobs. Kudos. The location is perfect. It was in a quiet area and just few minutes from everything - mall, park, small convenient groceries, gas stations, coffee shops, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaRN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the extended stay suites. The property was well maintained inside and out. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We would recommend staying there and if we are in the Sacramento area, we would stay there again.
Carmen and Ivan T

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Carmen and Ivan - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our property to be well maintained and our staff to be very friendly as well as accommodating. It was a true pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Airport Natomas
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Northgate
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sacramento Airport Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Arden Way
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Airport Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas

Property: Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas
Address: 2810 Gateway Oaks Dr, Sacramento, CA 95833-3509 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Sacramento - South Natomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead South Natomas Hotel Sacramento
Homestead South Natomas Sacramento
Extended Stay America Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing