We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel Close to Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel Close to Convention Center”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Loved this charming hotel. Stayed at the hotel for multi-day function at the Convention Center around Thanksgiving. Friendly front desk. Loved the cucumber water and hot tea available all day in the room off the entry. My daughter and I stayed in a lovely room complete with antique trim, super high ceilings and funky light. Perfect. The bathroom was very functional, but if you are not nimble or are a little older/overweight, you may have a little difficulty stepping into the tall tub/shower. Not an issue for us. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the atmosphere. Would definitely stay at the hotel should we return to Sacramento.

Room Tip: We had friends who also stayed in the hotel and did not have rooms with the charm ours did. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHyde2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
25
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a neat old mansion converted into a pretty nice hotel. My room was gigantic and great, with a 4 poster canopy bed, huge showers and jacuzzi tub. The meeting facilities are excellent as well. Only a couple blocks from the capitol and the convention center.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank adriantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

H street is lined with old Victorians and when we pulled up in front of the Sterling we were all smiles...Yes! curb appeal? you betcha! we walked up the steps to the grand entry door and were greeted by a super friendly and personable young man you processed our reservation with speed and a smile! you know, he was genuinely glad to have us there! do you ever get the feeling when you check in that you are an inconvenience to some folks? not this place, we received a first class greeting all the way(upon check out by a different clerk as well) our room (201) was huge with a beautiful clean bed tucked into a three window nook overlooking H street. our bathroom was gorgeous, tiled with a jet tub perfect for two, amazing! the bed was more than comfortable, the hotel gorgeous! I have seen reviews about parking here but there is a garage less than a block away and we had no problem parking on the street in front of the hotel! The Sterling is one block from any kind of cuisine imaginable, the neighborhood is quiet and safe. We usually select accomodations that have character and the Sterling did not disappoint.The Hotel is furnished to the Victorian period, detailed, clean, clean, clean and you will love it when you see it. I am aware of where I am on this planet and what I have done in my 55 years on this earth and this hotel was an enjoyable experience. we will stay here again and again and this is most certainly a jewel. We availed ourselves to a couples massage next door at "Thai massage" and had Sushi at the "Kru" on 26th and J (awesome) if you are looking for the perfect weekend get-a-way with your special lady guys this is the place to do it if your in Sac. Thank you Sterling we were more than takin care of!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowchasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsala
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Sterling is charming. My room was huge and quiet. Location is perfect, close to the Capital and the big hotels. Easy walk to the old city and riverfront.

Parking was challenging. You need to self-park in a garage and walk to the hotel, which is slightly uncomfortable in Sacramento.

Staff is friendly and helpful.

I wish every business city had a similar choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite and book ahead for a good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 359kateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is small - 16 rooms - all different and very cool! The service was great and my experience was pretty wonderful. My clients had booked the hotel and I was so happy to be somewhere with character instead of a chain hotel. The room was gorgeous with a comfy bed, free wifi, views of the neighborhood and some beautiful trees in the midst of changing colors. Happily with a wedding reception taking place on the first floor, I couldn't hear the celebration in my room on the 3rd floor.

The front desk staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. There were quite a few to choose from just a short walk away. Did not get a chance to try out the gourmet restaurant downstairs as it was closed from 2pm Sunday and Monday. The continental breakfast was just that and the coffee was nice and fresh.

If you want something that's boutique lovely, in midtown Sacramento, stay here. Oh - and if you are attending something at the Convention Center, it's a 2 block walk.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. I loved being on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephSelesnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Sterling Hotel is in a great location, surrounded by beautiful historic homes. Our room was spacious and well decorated. Very little attention was paid to the continental breakfast of unhealthy, packaged foods. Parking became a problem as the night clerk had told us that parking on the street was free on Sunday, but if we left the car there after 8:00 AM on Monday,, we'd have to plug the meter. So we made a point of paying the meter before breakfast so that we could linger over (what we thought would be) a nice breakfast. As we were eating breakfast, the morning desk clerk (manager) came and told us that our car would be towed away because the street sweeper comes around on Monday. Unhappily, we moved the car, and the clerk was very rude about the lack of communication regarding parking. A lesson learned about checking parking rules before spending the night.

Room Tip: If you're a senior or physically challenged, you may want to inquire about the tub/shower in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsaxtonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I attended a conference in Sacramento, and usually choose the Citizen Hotel downtown for our accommodations. This time, we wanted something a little different than the big hotel. We chose the Sterling hotel, which is located a couple of blocks from the Citizen, in a fantastic downtown location. The hotel is actually an old, historic, Victorian house. There are about 10-15 rooms in the 3 story house, each one different. We chose a queen bed room on the second floor, room 202, although we were told we could choose another if we wished. I was very impressed with the size of the room, and the tall ceilings with beautiful crown molding. The bathroom was very spacious with a double jacuzzi tub, and the living area included a full desk, free wi-fi, and walk in closet. The bed was very cozy and comfortable, and the views out the three large windows surrounding our bed was very relaxing. The windows opened, albeit, are quite heavy and historic, and had to be held open with a stick provided by the front desk:) We slept with the windows wide open to catch the wonderful breeze coming through the room. In back of the bed was a large picture window that looked out on to a fully established, beautiful pink blooming plumb tree. Our room also looked down onto the outside garden seating at the gourmet restaurant at the hotel, which is located off the basement. Although we were in the center of town, the low level of street noise was not bothersome, and quite expected. The hotel is very old, and the room could use a bit of refurbishing, i.e., definitely the jacuzzi tub fixtures, and the carpet in the room could use a scrub. However, the comfort of the room and common areas was that of an old house, "grandma's" house if you will, and the normal accouterments you might expect from a modern hotel were easily forgotten. The structural inconsistencies just added to the wonderful character. Included were a simple continental breakfast with hot coffee and juice. Front desk service by all the staff was fantastic. We will definitely be back to try another room!

Room Tip: The house is located in the middle of the town, so I would guess the noise level is the same in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galfromtahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#47 of 81 in Sacramento
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Property: The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
Address: 1300 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sterling Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sterling Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing