We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, large rooms, family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, large rooms, family”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here with our two teens in two rooms. Delightfully light filled large rooms. Gorgeous bathrooms. Courteous, helpful staff. Like staying at a Bed & Breakfast at a mansion. Also a great price. Ask for the facebook 10% discount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
24
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Sterling for one night and a work colleague stayed for two nights. The htoel is very charming and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Staff served a nice little wine/cheese happy hour and the breakfast was modest, but a nice quality. Rooms are very large and the bathrooms are unexpected large with jacuzzis bathtubs. My only complaints were that the bath towels were small and fairly worn (snags, stains) and that the a/c was pretty noisy. I will likely return since I have a lot of business in downtown sacramento, but will try to do so when I don't need to use the a/c.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were in Sac. to meet up with old friends. What a great place to stay! Very quiet with a friendly and helpful staff. We had the single queen room #202. It was plenty spacious with a double jacuzzi tub. It can get a bit stuffy in the room, I think the building is just sealed real tight. Turning on the air though fixed it right up. Parking can be tough, but we were able to park within 50 feet of the hotel at all times. Parking is free on Saturday's and Sundays on one side and Sundays in front. Don't park in the loading zones though, because the city is out in force to give you a ticket if you do. A public garage is a block away, but we never needed it. We really enjoyed staying at the Sterling! We paid $99 per night, plus taxes of course. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Beautiful old home converted into bed and breakfast type setting. We had a standard room with two queen beds. It was large, clean and comfortable with four-post beds, high ceilings and big windows.
The neighborhood is peaceful and feels safe. It includes many other homes from the same era. It's walking distance to the Governor's Mansion and convention center.
Front desk staff were great --- very friendly and helpful. We had misplaced some music festival information. Lauren found it, realized it was ours and called to let us know it would be waiting for us. She also told us about a weekly live music event at a nearby park, which we attended and had a great time.
The rates are reasonable and very reasonable if you book early. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlinghotelsac, General Manager at The Sterling Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I travel to Sacramento for work and was surprised to find this nice B&B type hotel in the area. The neighborhood is gorgeous (Mansion Flats) and very safe. The hotel offered basic amenities, do not expect anything above and beyond. The bed was not too comfortable and the bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful and friendly.
The reason I'm giving a rating of 3 to the hotel is because the mattresses are hard and uncomfortable and the pillows are overstuffed and hard. Neither my husband or I slept well because of this.
I was also disappointed to find that the housekeeper had neglected to put coffee or enough cups in our room. We were in a large room with 2 queen-sized beds and we had 1 cup, a single serve coffeemaker and no coffee, lots of cream, sugar and napkin packages though.
Our room itself was very nice with a large marble bathroom, working jacuzzi tub and free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We paid around $150 each night for 3 weeknights, for 3 people. Very spacious room (room #211) even when we have the rollaway bed. Huge bathroom with marble tiles. 2 short blocks to the convention center.

Cons:
- sloppy housekeeping
- customer service was marginal
- maintenance of property was quite sloppy.
- carpet has a lot of nasty stains
- 4-inch thick mattress pad was too soft for my back
- weird A/C system - some parts would be very cool, others very warm. We had a west-facing windows so the room was hot during the day. Very weak A/C inside the room.
- so therefore we left our windows open and the dump truck came at 6 am, emptying the bins RIGHT UNDERNEATH our windows (which was an alley), followed by very noisy birds, then morning traffic starts. :( But very well insulated windows, if you close them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ariesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#46 of 81 in Sacramento
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Property: The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
Address: 1300 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sterling Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sterling Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing