We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Greens Hotel two times!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Greens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
1 review
“The Greens Hotel two times!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Really a cool place... A bit eclectic though. Stayed there twice about six months apart. My rooms were great... good size, quiet with nice bedding... BUT !!! Both times the pool was out of service and it turns out the pool was never in service! The pop & water machine was broken. had to walk to the nearest store, about 5 blocks to get water. WiFi was very hard to get needed to walk out on the balcony only to find a extremely weak signal. Lastly the water pressure was nil just a small dribble impossible to complete my shower.

Talked with management and received a vacant smile.

A good sleep thats about it!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
21
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

"Just like the authentic little neighborhood in which it resides", is how their website describes this place, and how right they are! On arrival we were greeted by a post-it stuck to the reception office door giving us a phone number to ring. So as visitors to the USA how was that to be done! Eventually with some local help we got to our rooms. The place is a cross between Cell Block H and Alcatraz . Did they call that a Boutique Hotel? The doors are completely metal and heated the room beyond belief. We decided that as we had been driving all day we would walk to Enotria for a meal, that's when we found what sort of area it was. Needless to say we ran back to get the car to get the girls back. After spending a restless night with a chair wedged under the door handle we left Sacramento as fast as we could. Didn't see anyone from the hotel in the end, we just up and left. The rooms we had were too greenand too red, you don't know whether you are one ceiling or the wall! To top it all we were looking forward to a swim, but that was too green as well!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank favfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Wow, I guess this really IS a hispter hotel, cause that was the worst service/experience of my life. We booked a room on the night of an event at the hotel and were turned away after looking for osmeone to help us for 15 min by the rude manager who wasn't even apologetic about the error. She "blocked off" the date so no one should have been able to book, but I did, and had a confirmation to prove it. She didn't care, said she's give me a refund tomorrow and that was it. Dingy rooms, weird layout (pool near the front desk, isolated? What, too good for a "I'm sorry?"

Will never return here. Abominable service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fatchamyleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

This motel offers you a nicely decorated, hip, big, clean room for a great price. Our room was painted bright green, there were purple chairs, a small desk, as well as a little fridge. The AC works well, there is wifi and a pool (we did not use the pool, but it looked nice). The bed was comfortable.

The neighborhood is not as good, but it felt safe enough to us, and the motel has a gate that closes at night.

Other cons include: you only get housekeeping if you call for it, there are no glasses in the room if you want to drink some water, the drapes are short so the room is not kept very dark at night (although it was adequate).

We would stay here again if we were driving through Sacramento. It is a much better option than a chain motel.

www.riderbymyside.com

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

I thought the establishment was clean and staff friendly and helpful - not so sure I liked the neighborhood being a woman traveller - but I will go back again -

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dade4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I travel to Sac on business quite often, but was tired of the usual picks. Oooh...a new chic modern hotel? I'll give it a whirl! Check in was a breeze! The room itself was quite cute. Modern furniture gave it a cool look which was nice to show off. Modern furniture sometimes can have that "cold" look, but the Greens' seemed to be the aberration. The bed was super comfy. The bathroom was spotless. Only a couple of cons: this part of town in Sac is a bit sketchy (not horribly crime ridden, but I wouldn't feel too safe walking around at night). Also just wished they had offered a little breakfast foods.

Overall, a great deal for a clean, eco-friendly, easy on the eyes hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmanitrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Greens is, as discussed in other reviews here, a great deal. The very clean, eco-friendly, comfortable rooms were an inexpensive and funky crash pad for us during 5 nights of business in Sacto. Our room was spacious and somewhat spartan but we had everything we needed, including free wifi and an ironing board. Other guests ranged from tattooed hipsters to contractors. The biggest drawback was the inconvenient, actually nonexistent hours that the place was staffed during our stay. They are apparently trying to save $ by only having the office open from 9 am-9 pm. We weren't able to call for directions from the airport, or to use the pool and reading room (it is inside a locked lobby), and getting a receipt before our 5 am flight was a huge hassle. Once you track them down the staff are quite friendly and helpful, though. This is in a gentrifying neighborhood - think south Congress in Austin circa 1990, with pawnshops and homeless pushing shopping carts past indie art studio spaces. There's a fabulous panaderia down the street, but no decent coffee for miles.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegreenshotel, Manager at The Greens Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review / feedback after your recent stay at The greens hotel. We do apologize for any of the inconveniences caused. Particularly the fact that we have such limited hours at the office. We will take corrective measures and make sure the office is open longer hours and that the staff are more accessible. Its just that we are a financially struggling hotel and hence we are very frugal with our work hours. But I admit that we need to look out for our guests' comfort and needs too.
Hope to see you the next time you are in Sacramento.
Sincerely,

Yvonne, Javier & Rick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
3.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#13 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greens Hotel

Property: The Greens Hotel
Address: 1700 Del Paso Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Greens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greens Hotel has re-opened on November 7, 2014! We have worked very hard to make sure that our accommodation's, landscape, and public areas are comfortable, clean, and welcoming. We have added a Keurig to every room, the nicest bathroom amenity available to us,luxurious mattress pads, and comfortable bedding to make your stay memorable. The Greens Hotel is the centerpiece of an authentic little Sacramento neighborhood where mid-century suburbia shares the sidewalks with the best of today's design, art, fashion and dining. Twenty-six rooms named A through Z and one suite, frame a casual commons, best for a breezy summer nights gathering around the pool or in one of our private and intimate courtyards, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Greens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing