We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well maintained historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well maintained historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good bed, well decorated small rooms. Only downside was slow expensive internet wifi in room. Good restaurant for breakfast each morning. My 5th floor room did not have a noise problem as others have mentioned in their reviews.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PurpleTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    234
    66
    26
    16
See reviews for
84
223
45
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The service was great, the parking required either a long walk or valet which worried me. The entire hotel as well as the room had so much character with such a story to tell behind it. The breakfast at the restaurant was the best omelet I have ever had in my life!!! The room was very clean and classy with crazy tall ceilings, and the bed was very comfortable. I accidentally booked the wrong date for our stay on Expedia which states that there are no refunds, the hotel clerk at the front desk took the time to talk to Expedia about my mistake, had them issue a refund(even though they were not required to) and also book me a new room. The customer service and atmosphere is outstanding, I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I loved my stay at the Citizen and would recommend this place to lay your head if you're traveling to the state Capitol.

From the moment you arrive, everyone from the valets to the various staff walking around greet you with a warm hello. I was in some beat up travel clothes, so I thought I was gonna get the Julia Roberts treatment from Pretty Woman being in such a swanky hotel, but it was quite the opposite. Everyone was super friendly. I had the pleasure of having Kristin check me into my room and loved that she gave me the options of where to stay. I'm sure all the rooms are great, but she asked what kinds of preferences I had; being okay with noise from the adjacent concert in the park, I opted for the high room with a view.

The rooms are a little on the small size, but decked out in some pretty amazing decor. The bed is super comfy and there is a desk and a flat screen for your entertainment. Wifi is not included and comes at a cost of $9.95 per day for 1mbps or $15.95 for 2mbps. Either is pretty slow, but adequate enough for web surfing and replying to e-mails. I wouldn't try to stream any video files or download photo files as it would probably take forever.

Located within walking distance of pretty much everything, you're surrounded by some great restaurants, coffee shops and even the park across the street that seems to have a lot of cool entertainment on the weekend during the summer. On this particular Fri/Sat, they had a free concert series going on full of great tunes, food trucks and other vendors to choose from. It ended at 9PM, so it wasn't an all night rager, but a lot of people showed up to support local culture in the community - it was super cool.

The hotel does have a restaurant downstairs that's a little on the high side, but if you're feeling adventurous, there are a ton of dining options in the area just a short walk away.

This is definitely going to be my hotel destination the next time I return to the city. Everything about my stay was just great and I had no complaints.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location downtown. Easy walking distance to multiple local attractions, restaurants and bars. The architecture of the building and the interior design of the hotel and its rooms are excellent. A unique, historic and beautiful hotel in Sacramento that is reminiscent ot excellent hotels in larger, international metropolises. Room service is very good and they will make efforts to accomodate your off the menu requests. Highly recommended for anyone planning on staying in Sacramento, particularly if you are looking for a different experience than what is offered at larger chain hotel properties.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a corner suite. The added light and increased views from the additional windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyDogSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a great stay at the Citizen. Perfect location for downtown making everything walkable. The staff was first rate and everyone was super friendly. The rooms were clean and was very quiet. The Grange was an extra treat! Make sure you dine there as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is situated in downtown Sacramento. It was easy to find and staff was very helpful. This is a beautiful boutique hotel. in the lobby, think dark wood and velvet upholstered furniture. While the fixtures were modern, including a flat screen tv, the decor of the room was very traditional.

Since prior reviews said place could be noisy, we asked for a room on a high floor. We were placed on the 10th floor but could still occasionally hear the loud bass from music playing in cars as they drove by. This was not a huge problem for us, but ear plugs were provided with the bathroom toiletries just in case.

The rooms were a bit smaller than other hotels, but there was ample room for suitcases, etc...again, not a problem for us. We had a room with two double beds and our party of 4 was quite comfortable.

We had brunch in the restaurant downstairs. There was no wait and service was fine. Food was great and price reasonable.

Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay2003cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our first trip to Sacramento and the hotel was great. Staff exceptionally friendly, offering good advice to make our stay as best as possible. We opted to upgrade to a suite as we were 2 adults and a 16 year old. Space wise was a bit tight, however still worth the extra dollars. Area is close by everything. Shame the state capital appears to be neglected. Historically very interesting, and hotel is in the midst of all the major attractions, not that there's many. Lots of nearby places to eat and drink. Was worried when read reviews about hobos, however the odd one or two we came across couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#20 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing