We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I love staying at the Citizen. It's got a great vibe and a very friendly staff to help with whatever you need during your stay. I've stayed there 3 times on business so far, and hope to be able to stay there again. Little things, like being able to drop by the Grange for dinner without a reservation (or ordering room service off the Grange's menu), makes staying there really easy and comfortable. It's located on J Street, just a few blocks from a few more great restaurants. I tend to valet my car and walk around downtown to grab dinner if I'm in the mood for a walk. Also, if you're a member of the Joie de Vivre club, they'll leave a bottle of red wine in your room when you check in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 897 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

I love the Citizen Hotel and their friendly staff. The rooms are excellent and the atmosphere is amazing. Plus, the quotes in the elevators are an added bonus. I highly recommend The Citizen Hotel as the only place to stay in Sacramento.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've stayed here almost a dozen times now and it's always been a very good experience. The rooms are spotless, the beds and showers are excellent, there are decent sound-proof windows to combat the on-site weddings and events in neighboring Cesar Chavez park, and the service has always been great. My only complaint is that they only have a few rooms that can accommodate a family of four or more. We had to stay elsewhere a few times when their few larger rooms were all booked. That said, we've had an absolute blast staying here during wedding weekends. It's hands-down our favorite hotel in town.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quieter experience, ask for a room that's away from the wedding recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagyarfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great location and fun restaurant. Rooms are nicely appointed and some have great views. Helpful staff. Check out bar on second floor. Enjoyed every part of the trip. Bathroom had a view of the Capitol and lobby was really unique. Best hotel in downtown sacramento. Small enough to have character and large enough to allow multiple rooms for visitors. Would recommend for any visit to SACTO especially if you have business downtown or family in east sac or land park. Don't waste time at Hyatt or Sheraton.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel has outstanding architecture and is so well remodeled. It has the look and feel of old Sacramento. The walls throughout the hotel are covered with older editorial cartoons from the area and add to the charm of this hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel is excellent as well and provides the room service. The rooms are quirky sizes due to the age of the building but all of them are well appointed. This is our go to hotel in Sacramento.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Charm and an old fashion style are evident here. We had a corner room with plenty of space. The restaurant in the hotel is first rate. Since I'm a a Joy of Life member, there was even a bottle of wine waiting in our room. Our only concern was the parking; our car came back very dusty.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DrFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

For a weekend in Sacramento, this hotel provided the perfect location. Comfortable spacious room with lots of windows and a view of the California State Capitol Dome. Lots of political references and humor throughout. Looks like a nice place for a small gathering - party-meeting. Attached restaurant was a plus - delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Request to be off the main street which might be noisy during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsSF2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $130 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing