We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Escape from work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Escape from work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay in downtown. Old world charm with modern amenities. Convenient for meetings, yet comfortable for rest and relaxation. This is not my first visit and will not be my last. I would recommend the Citizen for business or pleasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jlourenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    241
    71
    27
    18
See reviews for
90
229
48
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco,ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Citizen is part of the Joie de Vivre Hotel Group which almost guarantees a great property and excellent service.
This hotel in downtown Sacramento is a few blocks from the Capitol building and it is located right across from a tree lined park. There is a wonderful restaurant on site called Grange which also has a nice bar area and food and drinks are excellent.
There are also many fun bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room size differ from smallish but very well appointed to larger rooms with very large bathrooms. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisethethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Vagabond Executive 5 blocks away has bigger rooms, better beds, fridge and microwave, table and chairs, is quieter and doesn't charge for parking, WiFi or breakfast. By the time you have added all these add-ons, Vagabond is probably << 1/3rd the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbNevadaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

On a business trip to Sacramento decided to forego staying at the Hyatt or Sheraton and tried the Citizen. It was a superb choice. The hotel is conveniently located near the Capitol and a few short blocks from the Convention Center. It is smaller, more personal and not as hectic as the bigger nearby hotels. The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable. All of the artwork in the hotel celebrates citizen activism and grassroots democracy, which is fun. The restaurant on site, Grange, is spectacular. The fitness center needs some work; I opted to take a river run instead, and access to the trail was an easy 5 minute run from the hotel. Staff was very friendly. This will be my go-to hotel in Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful décor and walk in tile shower make this one of my favorite hotels. We stayed last evening attending a wedding at the Sacramento Ballroom. Perfect location for everything downtown. The room was amazing....typical of a JDV property...making you feel right at home with lots of little extras. The huge bath was one of the best we've ever had...three large high windows that brought in tons of light, walk in tile shower (two sides were a beautiful curtain, fantastic bath products, fantastic high thread count bedding. The ambiance of this hotel just makes you feel at home. The only negative would be the 5 cheese platter that we bought in the bar for $30.00. More decorative than cheese. Thinking we could feed 4 people but really just right for 2 which seems a little steep for that price as an appetizer... but I have to say it was still delicious. Love, love, love this place. You can never go wrong with a Joie de Vivre property!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1214 with a beautiful view of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was origianlly to stay at the Hyatt in downtown Sacramento but when that didn't work out I found the Citizen Hotel by looking on Trip Advisor. It was the highest rated hotel in the downtown Sacramento area and I concur. The hotel is older - but completely upgraded in grand fashion. They really play off the state level politics here in Sacramento in a very fun way. I enjoyed the political cartoons as art work in the room, etc. The finishes are all very high quality. The rooms are quiet and the linens, washrooms, etc are all very (very) nice. I enjoyed this stay a lot. As stated by other reviewers - the staff was excellent (which wasn't my experience at the Hyatt).

Room Tip: It is on a busy street so the higher up in the hotel will result in a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileyno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my third stay at this great little hotel. It’s situated right in the heart of Sacramento, within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, the Capital etc etc. Staff is amazing, ambience incredible and the rooms have really nice little extras to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: I go high so the street noise is minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing