We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is a favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel is a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is full of character and with the decor you really feel a sense of place. I always hear people complain that Sacramento is bland and devoid of interest. If you stay here you might think differently. The hotel's restaurant is great and there are number of restaurants, bars, and coffeehouses within close walking distance. I find myself looking for excuses to overnight in Sacramento. The rooms seem to vary a lot in size but all are nicely appointed. The hotel staff are all friendly and professional. I always get a great nights sleep here and have found the rooms very quiet. Maybe that is due to the the good quality construction in this solid old hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfotraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    259
    77
    30
    18
See reviews for
95
239
51
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great service all around from the valet when you arrive to the check-in and everyone else in fact. The rooms are very clean and the bedding is very comfortable. Centrally located in downtown Sacramento. Parking is $25 a day with unlimited ins and outs (just marginally more expensive if you self park but then you pay every time you leave).
Great choice for a business traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the two executive floors which are on the 13th and 14th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Kanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was fortunate to stay at this hotel on a business trip, and yes fortunate! What a hotel filled with history and charm, I felt like I was staying in a set decoration for the movie Clue or Sherlock Holmes would appear with pipe in hand. Exceptional service from ALL staff, food was a culinary treat in The Grange restaurant and the door woman/ men were always greeting you with a friendly hello and a smile. The location for where my conference was was walking distance, and walked a few blocks to see the state senate short cab ride to shop. It will definitely go back to the Citizen when I have more time to spend! The political quotes and cartoons throughout the hotel are a fascinating change to the sometimes boring decor at other Hotels!

Room Tip: Any room, mine face out front and overlooked the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li2000nks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice hotel and good restaurant. Has some charm and well located in Sacramento. The hotel is in an older building and has been renovated, and that makes it not feel like every other hotel. They also play with the theme throughout the decor, which is a nice touch.
The restaurant is very nice, although a bit noisy. But the staff is very friendly and the food is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice rooms with nice amenities, k-coffee maker in room. I had a nice room with a view of the capital. Staff are so very nice, felt like I was being treated special. The only reason I did not give 5 stars - parking valet only at $25.00 day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Capitol view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a great place to stay. I was there for work/school business and couldn't have been happier. Staff was excellent and willing to meet my needs. It's location is superb, about 2 blocks outside of the Capitol. There's a lot of great eateries and coffee houses on each side of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Start with the raw material: The Citizen's early 20th-century bones are beautiful. It's a classy hotel beautifully restored and tastefully decorated with political cartoons & photos that play off Sacramento's role as state capital. My room was super-comfortable and quiet, and the in-hotel restaurant, The Grange, is a class act. Breakfast choices were healthy and well-presented. Dinner was exquisite.

Room Tip: My room was away from the street, so it was perfectly quiet. I imagine the rooms right on J Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing