We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Citizen. The hotel is an impressive historic building that has been beautifully renovated. I especially liked the hotel's political theme, with political cartoons on the walls and law books in the lobby. My room was very comfortable and nicely decorated and the staff were friendly. The hotel is located near the State Capitol, a couple of movie theaters, Starbucks, and a nice lunch spot called the Ambrosia Cafe. I imagine the hotel will become an anchor for the downtown area. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JapanTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 910 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful! The architecture is amazing. It looks like it has been fully restored and looks beautiful. Its close to everything you would like to go to and see. The restaurant is very beautiful and the food is great. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wonderful old hotel with political cartoons everywhere. Service excellent. Room service food outstanding. If you stay join their club. Chocolates and wine in your room. Bed was very comfortable. I am not sure if you could get a room ver looking the capital but tht would be amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Citizen Hotel in Sacramento for a business seminar. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The door and front desk staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. So were the people at the front door. I loved the atmosphere of this hotel and the view of the capitol from my room. It was a large room, nicely furnished, and had very soft & comfortable sheet. I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Capitol which is all light up at night. It's a gorgeous view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlmcconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Citizen Hotel this past weekend for a conference and found this hotel to be exceptional. The rooms were nice, and the customer sevice was fantastic. It has kind of a 'boutique feel' to it. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB4SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Citizen Hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel in downtown Sacramento, just minutes from the Capitol, and a short taxi ride from the Midtown restaurants and bars. In a town full of chain hotels, the Citizen Hotel is a nice reprieve with good facilities, plenty of space, and an upscale feel.

From the moment we pulled up to the valet station, we felt welcome. Valet parking was $17 (although included on our Parking Package, which was the same price as the Best Available Rate) and was a simple affair: we pulled up, grabbed our stuff, and were done. Check-in was fast and efficient with a super friendly employee. He was quick to describe the amenities and mentioned that our welcome beverage of a split of red wine (free for Joy of Club members) was already in our room.

Our twin room, on the sixth floor, was a good size and featured everything you would expect: minibar, safe, coffee maker, iPod clock radio, and quality toiletries (from Lather). I had zero complaints with the room and slept soundly, although if you're light sleeper, you will appreciate the ear plugs available in the bathroom. Minibar prices were reasonable ($1.50 for a soda, $4 for sparkling water, $5.50 for a beer), although there is a Rite Aid just a block away as well.

The fitness center was on the sixth floor and was small, but well equipped (treadmills, weights, yoga mats, etc.). While we didn't have breakfast at Grange, we did grab drinks after arriving and they were solid, although pricey. It definitely seemed as though locals frequented Grange and everyone we spoke to in Sacramento knew of it.

Overall, I had no complaints and had a really pleasant stay. Compared to the Sheraton Grand where I had stayed the previous time, the Capitol Hotel is a no brainer and well worth choosing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed there for one night on a road trip. They welcomed my pup with open arms and didn't charge some insane pet fee.

The room service was impeccable. The menu is fresh each day, but if they have the tuna tartare, get it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 83 in Sacramento
1,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Sawyer Hotel
Kimpton Sawyer Hotel
#17 of 83 in Sacramento
42 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 83 in Sacramento
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $162 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing