We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cool Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is an old office building (1926), beautifully restored and reimagined as a hotel. Rooms are on the small side, but comfortable and modern. Excellent bar and restaurant, walking distance to everything in Sac.

Room Tip: Upper floors, nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    225
    63
    25
    13
See reviews for
83
219
43
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I made a last minute decision to stay in Sacramento and just walked in to the Citizen Hotel and made a real live in person booking. Who knew you could still do this! The clerk at the counter was fantastic and helped us get a good rate (we checked the Internet from the car...) and even offered us a few different rooms with different views to choose from. We chose the 12th floor and had a marvelous view as the sun came up this morning.

The building is quite cool and it looks to be an updated hotel from early last century. They even has Westinghouse elevators - back when Westinghouse made stuff like that. They were in fine shape and looked great too as someone has been keeping the brass polished. Our room was nicely sized with working windows and a huge bathroom. The beds were perfect for my taste but it could have been the pinot from the bar that enabled some good zzzzzzs. The one negative comment is that this appears to be a pet friendly property as I stepped on kernel of dog chow as I entered the room. No big deal but just an unexpected crunch.

The on site restaurant is called Grange and it's a new American type cuisine. My wife had the trout (full fish with head and skin) and I had the pork belly tacos (from the bar menu - thankfully no head or hooves) both were excellent. Since we arrived pretty late on Sunday we chose to eat in the lounge but had access to the full menu.


The hotel has valet parking and it's a bit cheaper than any of the local parking lots for overnight parking ($26 vs $30) but there's quite a bit of on street parking that appears to be free. We used the valet as we're new to the area and they were great on the way in and very helpful as we left this morning.

Great hotel. Nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel maintains a mid-century feel. It is dark and more on the romantic side. Location is great, hotel rooms are great, bathrooms are immaculate! From valet to suite, everyone was friendly and (super) professional. The restaurant/ bar in the hotel overlooks the street and is great for enjoying a nice glass of wine while people watching.A higher room will ensure you enjoy the sunrise over Sacremento and perhpas distance you from the noise from adjacent club (on weekends). The hotel is aware of the noise issue and has placed 'ear plugs' in the room for restful sleep. To be clear, this was not a nuisance to me at all, but can see that it may be for light sleepers. I would definitely return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher room, away from adjacent club and ballroom activity (depending on time of year)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrvaler_66_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Citizen is a lovely hotel inside a historic Sacramento property. Its ideally located near the capital. Parking is valet and a bit trick since the entrance is on busy J street...but the attendants do a good job of keeping the cars (and guests) moving).

Check-in was fast and pleasant. The room was small but well appointed with a HUGE bathroom. My one window wasn't that big, but it looked out over a nice little downtown park. The beds were comfortable. Note: They have rooms with 1 King or 2 doubles. The doubles are just that (doubles not queens) so they might not be a good solution for those travelling with more than 2 people. Unless your people are tiny and wee.

Food at the Grange (onsite restaurant) was really good and I'd recommend staying for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ok, there are a ton of rave reviews here about the Citizen so I'll try to come up with some other items that might interest readers.
So, I will start by saying all the raves are true. You will not find a hotel with friendlier staff or more comfortable rooms. Of course, in Sacramento, the bar is pretty low. Even the highest end hotels are frankly dumps in desperate need of renovation. The Citizen is light years beyond any of the others in my opinion.
First off, if you qualify, be aware the Citizen has a government rate. It's not always available, but if you are going to Sacramento on government business, as I do, it is an incredible deal.
Second, if you stay at the Citizen, be sure to visit their loyalty program site (called the Joy of Life club) and join. By doing so, you get free wifi during your stay and a "welcome indulgence" of your choice (some wine, bottled water, etc.). The wifi (like most high end hotels these days) will cost you otherwise.
Third, the staff is incredibly accomodating. Don't hesitate to ask if you need/want something. On my last stay, I asked if they could find me some space in the hotel where I could practice my violin without disturbing other guests. They gave me an unused conference room and were incredibly nice about the whole thing. On previous visits, if I've had any sort of problem, they immediately fixed it, or if it was going to take a while to fix, upgraded me.
I recommend the hotel without hesitation. They are by far the best there is in Sac,

Room Tip: I have yet to find a room I didn't like. Every room is unique (it's kind of a quirky buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel located right in the heart of San Francisco. I found it online and it exceeded all my expectations. The decor of the hotel is very stylish, combining features of it's old character with updated touches. The rooms have lovely (what look like original) political cartoons, wonderful mattresses and great amenities in the bath. Room service food was great and we dined at the restaurant attached to the hotel, which was fabulous. A great find, all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morey922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

When you travel for a living, you get sick of the usual faceless Hyatts, Marriotts, and Hiltons. They're all forgettable. The really special experience comes from the one-of-a-kind restored grand dames like Sacramento's Citizen Hotel. The location is excellent -- smack dab downtown, about a block from the state Capitol. It's a beautifully restored property that used to be the city's most prestigious professional office building. I'm a political junkie, so I loved that the art on the walls consisted of old political cartoons from the Sacramento Bee, and photographs of memorable moments in local history. It's a property with a terrific, quirky sense of humor. It's FUN.

The service, from the valet to the front desk to the staff at the Grange Restaurant, is close to impeccable. Best of all, the prices are insanely reasonable. Why would anyone stay anywhere else? I'm returning to Sacramento this week, and I'm heading to 926 J Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing