We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Boutique goodness in downtown Sacramento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Boutique goodness in downtown Sacramento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Citizen is a lovely hotel inside a historic Sacramento property. Its ideally located near the capital. Parking is valet and a bit trick since the entrance is on busy J street...but the attendants do a good job of keeping the cars (and guests) moving).

Check-in was fast and pleasant. The room was small but well appointed with a HUGE bathroom. My one window wasn't that big, but it looked out over a nice little downtown park. The beds were comfortable. Note: They have rooms with 1 King or 2 doubles. The doubles are just that (doubles not queens) so they might not be a good solution for those travelling with more than 2 people. Unless your people are tiny and wee.

Food at the Grange (onsite restaurant) was really good and I'd recommend staying for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    241
    71
    27
    18
See reviews for
90
229
48
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ok, there are a ton of rave reviews here about the Citizen so I'll try to come up with some other items that might interest readers.
So, I will start by saying all the raves are true. You will not find a hotel with friendlier staff or more comfortable rooms. Of course, in Sacramento, the bar is pretty low. Even the highest end hotels are frankly dumps in desperate need of renovation. The Citizen is light years beyond any of the others in my opinion.
First off, if you qualify, be aware the Citizen has a government rate. It's not always available, but if you are going to Sacramento on government business, as I do, it is an incredible deal.
Second, if you stay at the Citizen, be sure to visit their loyalty program site (called the Joy of Life club) and join. By doing so, you get free wifi during your stay and a "welcome indulgence" of your choice (some wine, bottled water, etc.). The wifi (like most high end hotels these days) will cost you otherwise.
Third, the staff is incredibly accomodating. Don't hesitate to ask if you need/want something. On my last stay, I asked if they could find me some space in the hotel where I could practice my violin without disturbing other guests. They gave me an unused conference room and were incredibly nice about the whole thing. On previous visits, if I've had any sort of problem, they immediately fixed it, or if it was going to take a while to fix, upgraded me.
I recommend the hotel without hesitation. They are by far the best there is in Sac,

Room Tip: I have yet to find a room I didn't like. Every room is unique (it's kind of a quirky buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel located right in the heart of San Francisco. I found it online and it exceeded all my expectations. The decor of the hotel is very stylish, combining features of it's old character with updated touches. The rooms have lovely (what look like original) political cartoons, wonderful mattresses and great amenities in the bath. Room service food was great and we dined at the restaurant attached to the hotel, which was fabulous. A great find, all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morey922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

When you travel for a living, you get sick of the usual faceless Hyatts, Marriotts, and Hiltons. They're all forgettable. The really special experience comes from the one-of-a-kind restored grand dames like Sacramento's Citizen Hotel. The location is excellent -- smack dab downtown, about a block from the state Capitol. It's a beautifully restored property that used to be the city's most prestigious professional office building. I'm a political junkie, so I loved that the art on the walls consisted of old political cartoons from the Sacramento Bee, and photographs of memorable moments in local history. It's a property with a terrific, quirky sense of humor. It's FUN.

The service, from the valet to the front desk to the staff at the Grange Restaurant, is close to impeccable. Best of all, the prices are insanely reasonable. Why would anyone stay anywhere else? I'm returning to Sacramento this week, and I'm heading to 926 J Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was thinking, how much can you expect from a hotel in Sacramento? Well, hubby and I unexpectedly loved this hotel! It's somewhat olde worlde with a beautiful lobby with marble walls and olden elevator. It is as nice as any 1900's-era hotel in any city in the country. The room very large for a city hotel from this time period. The room and bathroom were spaciois and very clean and the bed was super comfy. The hotel was nicely located in the center of town and about a 20-minute walk to Old Town and the River. The Grange restaurant in the hotel was excellent, as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearview3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would have given 5 stars, except our bathroom mirror was dirty. Other than that, the hotel room was clean. The room was nicely decorated, it had actual character. We had a corner room, with windows that opened. Staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vpark35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times and each time has been exceptional, including our most recent stay. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, have quality linens and there are wonderful in-room amenities (especially appreciate the bath soaps and Keurig coffee maker with quality coffee and tea). The double bed rooms we have stayed in are large, with huge bathrooms. The king room sizes are more varied, but even the smaller king rooms are adequate and nicely appointed. We have enjoyed views in each direction (park or capital). It's fun to read the political statements throughout the building. We enjoy dining at The Grange Restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Although the pecan butter pancakes are not on the weekend breakfast menu, ask, and they will gladly prepare them (yummy!), and in case they forget, be sure and ask for the incredibly delicious (and complimentary) breakfast breads when you order breakfast. The hotel is close to I-5 (about 1/2 mile), and within walking distance to the State Capital. All this and they are pet friendly, with no additional fee (we bring our Corgi here, where they offer a treat at check-in). It is a downtown city hotel and it's across from a park, so when we self park in the parking garage or walk our dog in the park, we stay aware, but we have never had any problems in this regard . . . and we appreciate that there always seems to be 1-2 staff in front of the hotel should we want their help for anything, including valet or bellhop services. We have always had excellent customer service from every single person who works at the Citizen. We have stayed at many different hotels in the Sacramento area and this is our absolute favorite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing