We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would have given 5 stars, except our bathroom mirror was dirty. Other than that, the hotel room was clean. The room was nicely decorated, it had actual character. We had a corner room, with windows that opened. Staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vpark35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 885 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times and each time has been exceptional, including our most recent stay. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, have quality linens and there are wonderful in-room amenities (especially appreciate the bath soaps and Keurig coffee maker with quality coffee and tea). The double bed rooms we have stayed in are large, with huge bathrooms. The king room sizes are more varied, but even the smaller king rooms are adequate and nicely appointed. We have enjoyed views in each direction (park or capital). It's fun to read the political statements throughout the building. We enjoy dining at The Grange Restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Although the pecan butter pancakes are not on the weekend breakfast menu, ask, and they will gladly prepare them (yummy!), and in case they forget, be sure and ask for the incredibly delicious (and complimentary) breakfast breads when you order breakfast. The hotel is close to I-5 (about 1/2 mile), and within walking distance to the State Capital. All this and they are pet friendly, with no additional fee (we bring our Corgi here, where they offer a treat at check-in). It is a downtown city hotel and it's across from a park, so when we self park in the parking garage or walk our dog in the park, we stay aware, but we have never had any problems in this regard . . . and we appreciate that there always seems to be 1-2 staff in front of the hotel should we want their help for anything, including valet or bellhop services. We have always had excellent customer service from every single person who works at the Citizen. We have stayed at many different hotels in the Sacramento area and this is our absolute favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirdieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great stay at The Citizens. The room was very comfortable, the bedding luxurious. We brought our two dogs, and there is no pet fee. There is a park right across the street which made exercising the dogs very easy. The Capitol, Old Town Sacramento, and many restaurants are all walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Havejeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a place to crash on our way home and discovered this wonderful old hotel near Old Town and the Capitol. Price was right (sr discount) and so was location. Only negative is the parking: either valet ($25) or self-park on-street or nearby parking garage, which is also used by the valets. Staff is very attentive and were quick to fix a broken lamp.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Boutique hotel with an old world feel. Grange restaurant in the hotel is very good as well. We went for one night for a night without the kids. Nice restaurants and bars close by. The bed was nice and comfortable and quiet room even with a Christmas party going on. We will do this again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had my wedding at The Citizen in November 2012, and it was perfect. However, I'll review the stay at the hotel rather than the wedding experience. I stayed in the Governor's Suite both nights and it was great. I loved the soaking tub and the view is unbeatable. The only complaint I have is that often, couples take wedding photos of them jumping on the bed in that suite, and now the mattress needs replacing. There are two pretty sizable droops on either side of the mattress, but I still slept alright.
Other than a mattress that needs replacing (no fault of the hotel) I had a fabulous time. Service was up there with the best hotels I have been to, and I love the charm of the building itself.
My other wedding guests loved their rooms. They stayed in all kinds from standard kings to one bedroom suites. Not a single person had anything bad to say about their stay. In fact, everyone loved their rooms and the hotel. Hands down the best I have stayed in in Sacramento. I've stayed at Le Rivage, and while it's location on the river is pretty, it's lacks personality and warmth. If you like style and accessibility, stay at The Citizen. Plus, you can't beat the prices. Such a value for what you get!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. Booked online for a King room and got email asking if we'd like to upgrade if it was available. I said yes and on arrival we got a 1 Bdrm Suite on the top floor for $150 night average. We had signed up for the breakfast special which was worth about $20 each day. Valet parking was $25 night.

All in all we got a great room with all parking, breakfasts and taxes for about $200 night. We were very pleased with the hotel and would return if we are in Sacramento again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $174 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing