We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Bath
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of a four week trip around California for our honeymoon. Our room was lovely, very clean and very quiet. The hotel is positioned well within the city.

We had had our credit card cloned earlier in our trip. Our credit card company had wired us the money which ended up being extremely complicated and stressful. In frustration, we asked at reception if they could help us as we had really hit a brick wall. Blaine was working the front desk. She spent about an hour with us making phone calls and looking up information for us on the Internet. I cannot stress how amazing Blaine was and really helped to calm us down. Although the issue was not resolved simply, she really went out of her way and was really rather determined to solve this issue for us. We were utterly stunned that someone would spend so much time and effort to help a couple of strangers. Nothing was too much effort for her.

I do hope her manager reads this and passes on our thanks. You should give this lady a pay rise and a promotion. What an absolute asset to your hotel. Keep hold of her! Thanks Blaine!

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the top floors where there were only 4 or 5 rooms. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvmb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    275
    80
    30
    18
See reviews for
102
243
53
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My coworkers and I were traveling to Sac on a business trip and were tired of the chain hotel down the street, so I looked at the nearby options and found this beauty! The building was built in 1924 and has lots of great Art Deco touches! Our check in with a credit card authorization beforehand from work was quick and seamless, and we all received our requested upper floor rooms. The rooms were very clean with great beds and wonderful city views. The bathrooms were large and well stocked with nice bath soaps, shampoos, etc. A Keurig coffee maker made making some outstanding coffee in the morning a breeze. The workout room was well equipped and I was the only person utilizing it both mornings. What was also fun was the nice staircase that spanned the entire 14 floors- a most excellent stairmaster! All the staff was very nice and went beyond the norm to make sure our stay was fun and comfortable. With the convention center and the state capitol two blocks away, I have found my go-to hotel for Sacramento! I can't wait to take my husband for a non work trip!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel and good restaurant and bar. Great location - close to freeway, restaurants and bars. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Bath products were nice too - Lather and there were robes and hairdryers.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor across from a banquet room. While it was noisy in the afternoon, we did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

High quality hotel in a building of character – a former insurance company building – rooms are contemporary in style and still relatively new. Adorned with political cartoons, reflecting it’s location in the state capitol. Staff efficient and courteous. Restaurant looked good, but pricey, we used a little café around the corner for breakfast. Downtown location (on J street, between 9th & 10th) opposite Cesar Chavez Park is good, near the main K street drag.
Tips for tourist visitors –
+ For main restaurants use K street. (Out the main door turn right, right again into 10th St then left at the next intersection.) Esquire Grill was excellent.
+ Old Sacramento – buildings, Railroad museum and river front well worth a visit. Approx 9 blocks down K street and through the shopping mall (& under the freeway) – best avoided after dark.
+ State Capitol building (public access) and surrounding gardens only c. 3 blocks in other direction – at M and 11th.
+ Post office is in the shopping mall (ground floor) – hotel does not sell stamps.
+ Taxi to airport c. $40.
- Care – despite the status as state capital and clear wealth in some quarters, Sacramento centre does seem to have quite a number of homeless people on some of the streets – be prepared to be asked for $. Not threatening but not ideal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to minimise road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed for 1 night on our way to Lake Tahoe. The staff were very welcoming. Our room was lovely with lots of character, great views and a decent coffee machine! The location was very convenient for walking round the centre of Sacramento. The town itself was very quiet, maybe because we stayed on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I travel pretty frequently and I feel like this was our best hotel experience in three or four years. From the staff, to the decor to the bathroom toiletries, everything was just wonderful. I can easily see why there were five weddings happening there over our 48-hour stay! The quality easily stands up to places like San Francisco's Mark Hopkins and at 1/3 of the price. I'd recommend the Citizen to anyone visiting Sacramento. I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NetDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

He says: We stayed at The Citizen on the last night of our California vacation this week. I am so glad we did. The hotel was beautiful from lobby to 14th floor. Very fast parking and check-in. Every member of the staff was very polite and professional. Weary from our travels we decided on having dinner in our room. The steak was the best I had on the trip. The hotel sent complimentary champagne to our room after finding out it was our anniversary. Every time we spoke with a staff member they told us Happy Anniversary or Congrats and asked if we needed anything at all to make our stay more enjoyable. The room was wonderful. The view from the 14th floor is great. The spa tub and big comfy bed was a good way to prep for a day of sitting in an airplane. Hats off the The Citizen and it's staff!
She says: TBA

Room Tip: Our corner room of the 14th floor was silent and very spacious. Spa tub, full bar and plenty of sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workingonmyrewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing