We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
$319
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$145
$136
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$149
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$293
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Delta King(Sacramento)
$144
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveler rating
464
318
96
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
318
96
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrange restaurantpolitical cartoonsboutique hoteloffice buildingacross the streetattached restaurantcorner roomjunior suitevalet parkingroom servicekeurig coffee makerrooms are smallmini barstreet noiseheart of downtownstate capitolquiet room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 931 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel and good restaurant and bar. Great location - close to freeway, restaurants and bars. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Bath products were nice too - Lather and there were robes and hairdryers.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor across from a banquet room. While it was noisy in the afternoon, we did not hear any noise at night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

High quality hotel in a building of character – a former insurance company building – rooms are contemporary in style and still relatively new. Adorned with political cartoons, reflecting it’s location in the state capitol. Staff efficient and courteous. Restaurant looked good, but pricey, we used a little café around the corner for breakfast. Downtown location (on J street, between 9th & 10th) opposite Cesar Chavez Park is good, near the main K street drag.
Tips for tourist visitors –
+ For main restaurants use K street. (Out the main door turn right, right again into 10th St then left at the next intersection.) Esquire Grill was excellent.
+ Old Sacramento – buildings, Railroad museum and river front well worth a visit. Approx 9 blocks down K street and through the shopping mall (& under the freeway) – best avoided after dark.
+ State Capitol building (public access) and surrounding gardens only c. 3 blocks in other direction – at M and 11th.
+ Post office is in the shopping mall (ground floor) – hotel does not sell stamps.
+ Taxi to airport c. $40.
- Care – despite the status as state capital and clear wealth in some quarters, Sacramento centre does seem to have quite a number of homeless people on some of the streets – be prepared to be asked for $. Not threatening but not ideal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to minimise road noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed for 1 night on our way to Lake Tahoe. The staff were very welcoming. Our room was lovely with lots of character, great views and a decent coffee machine! The location was very convenient for walking round the centre of Sacramento. The town itself was very quiet, maybe because we stayed on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I travel pretty frequently and I feel like this was our best hotel experience in three or four years. From the staff, to the decor to the bathroom toiletries, everything was just wonderful. I can easily see why there were five weddings happening there over our 48-hour stay! The quality easily stands up to places like San Francisco's Mark Hopkins and at 1/3 of the price. I'd recommend the Citizen to anyone visiting Sacramento. I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

He says: We stayed at The Citizen on the last night of our California vacation this week. I am so glad we did. The hotel was beautiful from lobby to 14th floor. Very fast parking and check-in. Every member of the staff was very polite and professional. Weary from our travels we decided on having dinner in our room. The steak was the best I had on the trip. The hotel sent complimentary champagne to our room after finding out it was our anniversary. Every time we spoke with a staff member they told us Happy Anniversary or Congrats and asked if we needed anything at all to make our stay more enjoyable. The room was wonderful. The view from the 14th floor is great. The spa tub and big comfy bed was a good way to prep for a day of sitting in an airplane. Hats off the The Citizen and it's staff!
She says: TBA

Room Tip: Our corner room of the 14th floor was silent and very spacious. Spa tub, full bar and plenty of seating. Dimming lights to set the mood too! I can't speak for the others.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workingonmyrewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews