We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We had a great experience staying at the Citizen Hotel. It's a very charming, old building that has been nicely renovated. All common areas and the room are tastefully decorated with political themes, for example quotes on the elevator walls, protest photos in the hallway, a political cartoon hanging up on the bathroom wall. The room was very clean, equipped with helpful amenities such as robes and coffee/tea maker, the bed and linens were comfortable, and the toiletries were good quality. It is within short walk to many restaurants (the hotel restaurant The Grange is very good), the Crest Theatre which shows independent films, and the capitol building. The only negatives are charges for room internet service (although a short time period in the business center is free) and parking although it's such a convenient location we walked and took cabs to get around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jana1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    241
    71
    27
    18
See reviews for
90
229
48
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

This was a business trip and the hotel was perfect. The room wasn't huge but everything was there. Loved the scent of the bathroom extras. Very nice staff and service

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear nancy118,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell of your experience at our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

Mark Mathews
Managing Director
The Citizen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

I had to visit UC Davis for medical tests and we decided to make it a mini-vacation with a nice hotel. Mission accomplished. This hotel is gorgeous, and the decor makes you feel like you're in The Untouchables movie. Conveniently, there is an ATM on-site (but it's downstairs in this kinda creepy basement area).
The valets open the door every single time you get near it; I'm a smoker and had to go outside several times that day/night; it was nice to have them there when I went out for a smoke at 4am.
When we arrived we were upgraded to a King from a Queen without even having to ask, as that was what was available on the higher floor we requested (to be away from traffic noise--12th floor, nice views and quiet). Opening the windows to get air in the room was nice, and there was a thermostat on the wall, which is a godsend because I get too hot/cold very easily. Blackout drapes worked like a charm for an afternoon nap.
We ate at The Grange and the waiter was great and the food excellent. Highly recommend the butterscotch pudding--it sounds odd in a fine-dining situation but they elevate it accordingly and it was fabulous!
Oddly the WATER in the room was wonderful. Every time I washed my hands they felt so CLEAN. I don't know if they have soft water, but that was my guess and it was good enough that I went home and leased a water softener.
As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are small. It's a hotel, you're probably there to sleep, not to do calisthenics so I'm not understanding what everyone needs all that room for. It's cozy and I appreciate that.
The only not-great parts: Shower, no bathtub in our room, with a shower curtain, which can be a bit peskier than shower doors. Also, there's no counter just a tiny shelf, so doing hair/makeup was a bit challenging, but was made up for by the awesome magnifying lighted mirror provided.
The blowdryer is in a fabric bag hanging with the robes. It was hard to find, so there's your tip--that's where it is. We couldn't find it so we called the desk and they brought one up. I felt silly and ended up with two when we figured out where the darn thing lived.
Alarm Clock: My husband couldn't figure out how to set it (we're starting to sound pretty dumb, maybe you'll have better luck) so he unplugged it. ...it has a battery, so unplugging it didn't work and the alarm went off at 4am.
Room Service Menu: It was more limited than most I've seen and we had to call down to the desk because we couldn't find it in the room--because it's not in the room, it's on the television. Speaking of things on the television, the check-out feature wasn't working. BUT we called down to the desk and they checked us out in about one minute over the phone, so that's okay.
That's all just me nitpicking though, and all the problems we ran into the staff addressed immediately--they were great. Overall great hotel, absolutely fantastic restaurant and we will definitely be back because my husband thinks it would be neat to play a game of chess on the board in their lobby. Now that you know where the blowdryer and room service menu are and about the alarm clock, you should have a perfect stay!

Room Tip: 12th floor was great--nice views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

This hotel is a fun, historic, and generally a nice place to stay. After staying there on vacation last summer with the family and liking it, I went back for a weekend conference at the convention center. It wasn't as good this time
- bathroom smelled strongly of men's aftershave
- in-room amenities weren't fully stocked: there was only one coffee with cafeine, no pad of paper or pen, bathroom supplies sparse (next day much better after i said something)
- Saturday night there was a lot of noise - apparently from a wedding - that went quite late
- staying on 13th floor the elevator was wacky
- breakfast at the Grange was expensive and so-so (go next door to the coffee shop or wak a few blocks to one of the many diners or coffee shops in the area - dinner was again excellent and enjoyable at the Grange. good food, good service at night.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and a bit funky - its historc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gringacriolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am so sorry that some aspects of it were not up to par. I appreciate the feedback and will share it with our team so that we can improve ourselves and our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

I really liked this hotel. Luckily, I had a junior suite wherein I still felt a little "squeezed in." Others who were traveling with me complained about the sizes of their rooms, so if that matters to the reader, I would look into it before I arrive. I should mention that I emailed a request and received NO answer. I mentioned that when checking in and was told that was not surprising! Oh well. I didn't care for all of the gadgets. In order to see the room service menu one has to figure out how to use the wide screen TV! Seems ironic given the traditional charm this hotel offers. The location is fine if you are attending anything at the convention center. The bed was very comfortable and there were nice amenities in the room included. I was very please with my stay here .

Room Tip: If size matters, know what you are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moochiebpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay despite some of the challenges that being in an historic building brings such as room sizes on some of our floors. We have tried to blend both traditional trappings and cutting edge technology to create a unique guest experience. I apologize that you did not recieve a response to your email request. I receive those myself and am diligent in responding so I am puzzled as to what happened. Perhaps if you have time you could forward me what email address you sent it to so I could investigate it. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Every city should have a hotel this good!

I am wrapping up a year of spending 2-3 weeks a month in Sacramento. I didn't write a review earlier, because it was too bad for me when the Citizen was sold out and I couldn't get a room here. But now that my gig here is winding down, it's okay to say--stay here, this hotel is excellent.

Ah, what a wonderful, comfortable hotel. All those nights staying at the Citizen, and I never felt the bummer of another night in a hotel. The beds--most comfortable mattress I've slept on anywhere. The staff is excellent (I practically lived here for many many months, and every interaction with a staff person was positive).

A great farmers market in the park across the street twice a week in the summer. An easy walk to the Capitol. An excellent local coffee shop around the corner. A slightly longer walk to many restaurant choices in midtown. Grange (restaurant attached to the hotel) is excellent--maybe the best restaurant in Sacramento, but, uh, better if someone else is paying or you have more money than me.

Well done, Citizen.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

This is a great hotel, centrally located in downtown Sacramento. I definitely recommend this hotel and the Grange restaraunt located adjacent to the lobby. The motif of past politics of Sacarmento is a nice touch

Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing