We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really it's whether you like thin crust”
Review of Masullo Pizza

Masullo Pizza
Ranked #218 of 2,014 Restaurants in Sacramento
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really it's whether you like thin crust”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Having heard a lot of positive hoopla about this restaurant, we decided to give it a try and see for ourselves. Here's What you can expect, depending on the time. 1- it's very noisy and holding a conversation is difficult. 2- Their notion of pizza is that it's thin crust, very thin crust indeed. The pizza, which was just okay, has such a thin crust that when you pick it up all the topping fell off. And the door was so thin it just flops. They don't have a lot of choices on the menu but you can mix-and-match. There is no true veggie pizza. There's no deep dish here, and since I'm one who likes Original crust, I was a bit disappointed.
When you add vegetables, they give you such a small amount it is not worth the extra cost. 3- They have a really cool ice cream dessert treat covered with nuts. 4- There's not much seating, mostly tables for two and some longer tables where families are grouped together. Once was enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blahblahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Skimpy toppings”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Maybe our expectations were a little hight but there was very, very little on top of average crust. Also, kitchen needs to sharpen knives.......had to tear/cut all pieces. Salad's were nice. Wine by the glass served in what appeared to be small water glass. Watch the beer quanities which are listed in different metric sizes. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerry448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pizza, pasta, and salads”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A great authentic italian pizza place. If you are looking for a pizza smothered in toppings, be warned: authentic italian pizza is on the simple side. Everything is of amazing quality. Small menu, only offers pizza, pasta, & salads but everything is great. Service is very attentive and helpful. I love going on Thursday nights for half off wine bottles!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing 2nd visit to Masullo”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The first time we ate here, the pizza was amazing. The crust was delicious, and the toppings were generous and wonderful. We also shared a caprice appetizer-mozzarella, tomatoes and fresh basil was great. Prices are high, even very high, for pizza, but we thought it was worth it. We were really looking forward to our second visit, about a month later, but, as good as it was the first time, it was that bad or worse the second.
The caprice appetizer was skimpy, to say the least. Two very small heirloom tomatoes with 4 of the tiniest basil leaves I have ever seen. Also, a tiny piece of mozzarella. What there was was good, but there really wasn't much, even for one person, and the skimpy basil was a joke. . The pizzas we ordered were the same. My wife had the Margherita-there was almost no tomato sauce with a couple of tiny basil leaves and a skimpy mozzarella covering. The dough that was so tasty last time was tasteless. My pizza, the 3 meat pizza, was supposed to have salami, sausage and mortadella. Instead, it came with 3 different meats, none of which had much taste-again the dough was tasteless. Service was unhelpful-if the kitchen was out of ingredients, you think the waitress would have advised us.
The difference between our visits was so great-the 1st time a five star experience-the second, a one star experience. In situations like this, one wonders which of the 2 experiences represents the restaurant, especially when the latest one is so terrible. I suppose we may give Masullo's another chance, but it will be a while before we go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good THIN crust pizza with quality toppings”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I think the most important thing is knowing what you're going to get before you walk in. This isn't going to be a Pizza Hut pie with thick crust and greasy toppings. The pies are small, thin, and lightly covered with toppings. However, the crust is excellent; nice and chewy. The toppings are tasty and clearly a better quality than your local pizza chain.

Wife and I enjoyed 2 pizzas, one with tomato sauce, and one without. Both had great flavor and a slightly charred crust. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

For dessert, we ordered the chocolate pudding which clearly had come straight from the refrigerator and was served so cold it resembled more of a pot de creme than a pudding. Good flavor, but not what we expected.

Very friendly and timely service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masullo Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Masullo Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing