We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful building, pleasant hostelling experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelling International Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, pleasant hostelling experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I've stayed in quite a few HI hostels and this is definitely one of the best. The building is absolutely lovely - a Victorian mansion with most of its original features retained. The lounge/common areas, with their high ceilings, mahogany fireplaces and big comfy chairs, are particularly enjoyable to work or relax in.

I stayed at HI Sacramento for three nights - initially in a single room and then a female dorm. The single room was very small, but had everything you would need (comfy bed, fan, chair, power outlets) and was at the back of the property so nice and quiet. The building has three floors and there are shared bathrooms on each, which were generally clean.

The dorm room was pleasant and comfortable. Lockers are available (you need to bring your own padlock). This wasn't a major issue during my stay, but there are no individual reading lights by the beds. This is by no means unusual in a hostel, and given the age and character of this particular building, I'm not sure how easy it would be to install them.

Breakfast was included and was typically basic but adequate (oatmeal sachets, bagels, spreads - no milk). The other guests were quiet and a good mix of ages. There was a school party staying on my final night, who were somewhat annoying and took over the dining area, but generally this place seems to attract a sedate clientele and is definitely not a party hostel.

My experience with the staff was mixed. Casey, the general manager, was extremely friendly and helpful, but I was less impressed with the indifferent attitude of the second guy who works there. Location-wise, the hostel is well situated in downtown Sacramento and within walking distance of the few attractions the city has to offer. However, the surrounding area seems to be a working district more than anything and many of the local shops and cafes were only open during weekday office hours. The nearest decent grocery store is probably about 15-20 minutes' walk away. I can't comment on the parking, but the hostel is conveniently close to the metro link which will take you to both the Amtrak and Greyhound stations (on different lines).

I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation on a budget in downtown Sacramento.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freshlybrewedcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    30
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
17
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice venue for a wedding! The building is so cool and has so much history. We came here for a wedding but would certainly stay the night here if I needed to. Many of the wedding guests did stay the night but we live locally so did need to. The hostel has a basement with a kids room and a game room and there are bathrooms on every floor and showers in some of the bathrooms, I didn't get a chance to see the sleeping quarters but if they are anything like the rest of the house I am sure they would be nice. There are a few sitting rooms near the entrance and a few other rooms on the first floor that were made into a dance floor for the wedding and a room off the kitchen where the food was set out. The entryway and front desk leads to the staircase. I love the old charm of this place. The patio area in the back under all the trees and vines was nice and cool in the evening and the front porch was so charming to sit out and watch the people go by while sipping a drink. This place has it all and even though I never thought of a place like this for a wedding it was perfectly accommodating for such an event or private party of any kind! We had the entire place to ourselves and for the whole night. The kitchen is roomy and several people can work and prep in there at the same time so no need to have the event catered you can do it yourself right on site. There is parking on site and easy to load and unload through the back door right into the kitchen. I loved to read about the history of the building and how they moved it across the street to where it is today back in the 90's sometime I believe. Its fun to think of all the history and things that have happened in and around this house since the late 1800's. Come check them out if your walking by it is close walking distance to all the downtown hotspots as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppertaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here one week while visiting my daughter who lives in a small apartment about 8blocks away . Enjoyed walking there every morning, stopping for coffee at the insight cafe.
The rooms upstairs were large and inviting, but I wanted an ensuite so that happened to be in the basement. The room was spacious , but not attractive and not totally clean. Net time I will just get a regular room with shared bath.
Overall, pleasant stay, helpful staff and great location..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I booked a one-night at the HI Sacramento. The hostel is in an excellent location, convenient to the AMTRAK/Bus stations and downtown. They have a one-time rate if you aren't a member of Hostels International, but it's pretty cheap. I arrived late but had called ahead and was quickly let in, checked in, and found my room. The room was clean, even though it was nearly full, and the bed was comfortable. I slept great and was able to check out but leave my bag free of charge while I wandered the city. I would imagine the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the facility would have been even more important had I been staying longer, but it was great to be greeted and helped by such great people. I would recommend staying here to anyone visiting Sacramento.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

It's hard to find clean, safe and economical lodging in Northern California so I was very excited to find this hostel! I travel to Sacramento often for business and always stay in one of the beautiful private rooms. It's in a lovely and historic victorian home in downtown Sacramento. As a solo female traveler I feel fairly safe staying here and wandering around close by. There are a lot of food options just down the street, and the staff are very knowledgeable. The staff are also always friendly and efficient and the check-in desk is open late.

The only downsides are that their parking lot can fill up fast so if you are arriving later in the day you may need to pay metered parking at least until 5:00pm ish. Street parking is free overnight but the meter resumes again at 8:00am. Also, they often have large groups staying there, so the breakfast area can be a bit hectic, but planning enough time in the morning will solve this problem.

Room Tip: The private rooms are roomy, and far more charming then I ever would have imagined for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beans_puka_shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a private room. Great for one night. The location was unbeatable, The home itself was 120 years old with a really interesting story and it was beautiful. The morning coffee and bagels were good. And they had a fenced in parking area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aangelacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Couldn't of asked for anything more 10 out of 10 I normally would never give a review but thought I better for this place keep up the good work guys. Alongside, Green Tortoise, Nicest hostel on the west coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Sacramento

Property: Hostelling International Sacramento
Address: 925 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-1804
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Sacramento 1.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a rare opportunity to relax in the comfortable elegance of a beautifully restored 19th century Victorian mansion. one of California's best travel deals and America's most unique hostel. The 1885 mansion features lavish sitting rooms, stained glass skylights, elegantly carved stairways and chandeliers, plus amenities including a fully equipped guest kitchen, game room, outdoor patio, internet access, on-site laundry and parking. Located five blocks from the Capitol and six blocks from Golden1 Center Arena. Private and shared rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento International Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing