We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crocker Art Museum

Crocker Art Museum
Ranked #2 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crocker Art Museum was one of the first art museums in the U.S. and is now one of the leading art institutions in California. Established in 1885, the Museum features one of the country’s finest collections of Californian art, exceptional holdings of master drawings, a comprehensive collection of international ceramics, as well as European, Asian, African, and Oceanic art. The Crocker is CLOSED every Monday.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The exhibits were fantastic. The added bonus was the museum was kind enough to supply our visually impaired group with gloves so that we could touch the sculptures. Our guide gave us such vivid descriptions to help us feel the experience. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    191
    28
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“RegionalArtatItsBest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The architecture is unique. It represents Sacramento then and now. The original building is lush with early California railroad wealth. The addition is bright and airy to hold many of the Crocker's permanent transitional and more modern collection. For me, the highlight is the exhibits which the Crocker has curated which represents a thrilling swath of regional talent, most artists who have a prominent national art presence. Exhibits have often been provocative and has displayed some wonderfully beautiful work. Additionally, the Crocker has a decent cafe and requisite gift shop. I love art museums, and the Crocker does not disappoint when looking for a regional perspective.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisysadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An exciting tour of the Art World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

convenient and great location. Parking available.
Beautiful colors and various artists. Well worth the visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hsplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Huge asset to the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon 4pm at Crocker and had hoped our ticket might also do us for the following morning - sadly not - and this is perhaps something the gallery might consider introducing. We would have returned the following day had that been the case and maybe spent some money in the shop as well but as it was we were short of time and another entry fee was just too much. All said this is a gallery well worth even a short visit. Ours concentrated on the 3rd floor which had a big variety of both American and other modern art all well displayed in a superb situation. We first determined to go when we say some Kondos prints at our B&B - do the gallery have some more originals? I would have loved to see more of his work full size and also would have liked to be able to purchase some of his Sacramento work in small print version in the shop. Attendants perhaps need to be harder on anyone using a mobile phone - loudly - as was the case while we were there. The woman did just not realise how intrusive her call was in the calm environment so an earlier 'quiet word' would have been better for other viewers. We enjoyed our brief visit very much.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Balmillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“World class museum in Sacramento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A cultural gem in Sacramento, the expansion really opened up the museum. Well worth a visit. The food in the restaurant was great as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank djt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crocker Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Crocker Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing