We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I love trains!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
Ranked #1 of 160 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I love trains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was great to see the evolution of trains and the way the railroads were built. I especially loved the gift shop. Got my own conductor's cap like an 8 year old!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,373
    313
    42
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winters, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Next Best Thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Aa a child, I was privileged to visit a Southern Pacific rail yard. This is definitely the next best thing! We took our grandchildren who were fascinated, but the adults found the outing just as exciting. It's a wonderful hands-on museum, so we all enjoyed climbing on engines to play engineer and walking through cars such as those for dining and sleeping. Does anyone but me remember the thrill of sleeping in a Pullman berth?

The museum is vast, and one should probably allow at least 90 minutes for a visit. It is possible to take a guided tour or to visit self-guided, with helpful docents stationed throughout.

Our family was not as excited about the toy train collection, but we do have a layout at home that may have dampened the enthusiasm. However, the models pale in comparison to all the full-sized, beautifully restored, cars and engines. There is a nice shop on the premises where once can purchase interesting books and posters, as well as train-related items.

Located in the tourist center of Old Sacramento, this museum is close to numerous reasonably priced family restaurants. You may also want to book an actual train excursion that leaves from a nearby location.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see for all visitors to Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a must see for anyone visiting Sacramento, even if you are not "into" trains. It's a great hands on history lesson with tours about the origins of train development and travel in the Western U.S. There is a large collection of restored trains, Pullman cars, postal cars, and a toy train collection upstairs. Great for families and everyone else too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmajere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Gem of Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wow! This museum is incredible. The displays are well done and the trains are first rate. I honestly think we enjoy going more than the kids! Plan on 60 quick minutes or 90 minutes to do some of the reading / learning. You can't do much better if you are visiting the Sacramento area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent museum, but the movie needs work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was actually my fourth or fifth trip to the museum, and it continues to impress. The exhibits are really extraordinary. My personal favorite is the cab-forward steam locomotive, with is truly awesome. They've opened up the cab for display as well, so you can sit in the engineer's seat and get a real feel for what it was like to drive this monster! The rocking 1930's Pullman car is also a real treat. For kids of all ages, the Lionel and Buddy L toy train exhibit on the second floor is incredible!!

The only negative comment I could make is about the movie. It's so California-politically-correct it's almost laughable. It's also due for a remake, since it's the same one they've been showing for many, many years.

That aside, this is a really great museum for the entire family. And as one other reviewer said - plan on setting aside plenty of time. There's a lot to see!!!

Highly educational, and highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing