We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Gem of Sacramento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
Ranked #1 of 160 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Gem of Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wow! This museum is incredible. The displays are well done and the trains are first rate. I honestly think we enjoy going more than the kids! Plan on 60 quick minutes or 90 minutes to do some of the reading / learning. You can't do much better if you are visiting the Sacramento area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,446
    330
    43
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent museum, but the movie needs work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was actually my fourth or fifth trip to the museum, and it continues to impress. The exhibits are really extraordinary. My personal favorite is the cab-forward steam locomotive, with is truly awesome. They've opened up the cab for display as well, so you can sit in the engineer's seat and get a real feel for what it was like to drive this monster! The rocking 1930's Pullman car is also a real treat. For kids of all ages, the Lionel and Buddy L toy train exhibit on the second floor is incredible!!

The only negative comment I could make is about the movie. It's so California-politically-correct it's almost laughable. It's also due for a remake, since it's the same one they've been showing for many, many years.

That aside, this is a really great museum for the entire family. And as one other reviewer said - plan on setting aside plenty of time. There's a lot to see!!!

Highly educational, and highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum for any train enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have visited this museum at least half a dozen times in the past, and I must say each time I learn something new here. What is great about this museum is its knowledgeable docents who would patiently spend time with visitors to tell about the history behind the many exhibits. There is no doubt all of the exhibits and artifacts are wonderful to look at and experience, but to get a deeper level of appreciation you would really need to have a docent tell you more about them.

My recommendation when you visit the museum is to give yourself at least 2-3 hours to experience everything. Guided tours are given several times a day, so make sure to take advantage of one. Ask the docents to tell you about the exhibits, if you'd like to learn more about them. This is a great museum for kids also (we have 4 and 7 year olds), as there's a giant model train display area, as well as a play area with lots of Thomas and Chugginton sets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vetism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
414 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Fantastic Railroad Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been to several railroad museums and this has to rank as the best so far. Exhibits are well presented and cover the history of railroads supporting the gold rush and the transcontinental link. A number of rail cars you can enter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This needs time to savour - don't arrive late in the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We only had an hour but it was still good to visit here. See the movie to start as it is excellent. The huge exhibits are truly magnificent and every bit as impressive as you expect - maybe even a bit bigger! There is every effort to evoke the whole experience of the railroad and the car which 'moves' on the rails is part of that. Staff friendly and helpful and the volunteer we talked to looked every part like 'Casey Jones'. Would recommend this attraction. Good shop as well. Well done to all involved in keeping this attraction going.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Balmillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing