We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“California History Presented at it's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
Ranked #1 of 159 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“California History Presented at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Amazing display of California RR history. Tells the whole story of the building of the RR through the Sierra Nevada Mountains in the 1800's. The displays are great. If you like trains, you will go nuts for this place. Very cool building too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,410
    323
    43
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“History on a Platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Here is a great and unexpected treat. The Rail Road Museum has done an incredible an well thought out job of presenting history. It was a little hard to find (even with a GPS) but the confusion evaporated once we saw the building. The outside does not tell you much about what you will find when you gain entrance. The space is huge and the number of displays and the years covered is perfect, or as near to perfect as one can get. The store is also helpful in bringing the experience to life.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cleat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Riveting, to my surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was just trying to give the kids a cultural experience, but I ended up completely fascinated. What a treasure trove of information and memorabilia from an era that literally opened up the United States in a way that was unprecedented. Lincoln did not live to see the railroad he helped plan, but he was in on the planning sessions. This is a must-see, in my opinion.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bookthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
200 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This museum was a great surprise for me. I went there only as a company of my son, but I was absolutely amazed. You can feel everywhere the nostalgia of first travellers and fancy trains. Great place for kids, very friendly staff, a lot of interactive activities. Really worth the money!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBelanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Railroad History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Enjoyed the guided tour and the walk through the passenger cars. Some interesting engines here, mostly inside, so it's a good rainy day activity too. Worth 2-3 hours here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kitewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing