We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trains and Tripods is awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of California State Railroad Museum

California State Railroad Museum
Ranked #1 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: North America's largest railroad museum draws more than 500,000 train enthusiasts annually.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trains and Tripods is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Once or twice a year the museum offers up a special program for photographers called "Trains and Tripods". It includes a great workship/lecture on Friday night and some time on Saturday morning to shoot, before the crowds. The staff was great and it was lots of fun.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sonoraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,578
    362
    45
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great museum, but could use more hands-on stuff for little kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We took our boys, ages 3 and 5, and the parts they enjoyed the most were the trains you could actually go in, and of course the elaborate Thomas train wooden railroad layouts upstairs. While the moms loved all the exhibits and interesting information on the plaques, kids want things they can touch. It would be nice if at least one of the engines you could climb on/in/around. Our favorite exhibit was the sleeping car that rocks as if you're really riding a train. Very cool! All in all, an extremely well-done museum.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 2_gals_and_a_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best railroad museums around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great collection of full-sized trains and toy trains, as well as a lot of history on the continental railroad, including displaying the "gold spike" laid where the tracks met.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank hamtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Always A Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was able to steal away for a couple of hours for a visit to one of my favorite places. I have not been been here in about five years and I was pleased to see that the big exhibits have not changed. Most of the smaller exhibits have and that is nice. There is one locomotive bay that always seems to have a different locomotive and this trip was no different.

I have always found one of the best parts of the museum to the be docents. Don't be shy, be prepared to ask them questions. They actually ride the rails and are very knowledgible about most aspects of railroading and they will talk to no end about trains. For me, that is a real treat.

Another tip: If you have a spouse or significant other who is not into trains, there are plenty of places where they can relax and read a book. (my wife has done that)

Also: Don't forget to visit the train station and other buildings that are included with your admission.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank watchman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Must See When in Sacramento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a popular place for field trips for schools but it is just as interesting for adults. You can zip through it fast but don't. Take your time and read all the information on the displays. The history is amazing. But the best part is getting to board all the different types of cars. Rail car, engine at front, caboose, dining car and sleeping car (these actually rock when on them to give you the feel). Of course train buffs might like other aspects, such as displays of different gauge trains (Lionel, etc). I saw a lot of photographers there to. It makes you want to take a train trip! You have to go at least once.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SHERRYK327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to California State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing