We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Sacramento

Old Sacramento
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Sacramento Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #6 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic area of restored buildings, museums and novelty shops brings life to the Sacramento waterfront.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Historical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I like the buildings/architecture in Old Sacramento. It has an old world charm look and feel to it. I like the shops, restaurants, etc. that line the streets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    827
    375
    73
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's been a while since I've visited here, but we used to go often: to show visitors, dining, a day of relaxation, have a toddy, listen to music, group luncheons, special celebrations (birthday, showers, anniversaries, post-bike ride refreshments, etc.). There's something for just about everybody, just about any time of day. Yes, the gift shops are catering to tourists, parts of it are too commercial, and parking is horrendous, but otherwise it's a fun place to visit, whether one is a resident or an out-of-towner. We've had retirement luncheons on the Delta Queen, service and food are always excellent. Visitors will want to stroll the whole area to see it all and then decide which places they'd like to spend more time in if they can.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank aliciapowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacto area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Somehow it just isn't ...enough.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Parking is tight too often, and metered fanatically and religiously by mobile ticketeers. I understand fines are fun killers. Many stores have little to justify the risk of tickets. To dine at the paddlewheel means running back to move your car to avoid the ticket nazis. HOWEVER--a great thing not to be missed, for some of us, is the Military Museum. Now in several floors, it is stuffed full of unusually great displays and weapons. Outstanding for Sacto.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Real Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

"Old Town" is the real Sacramento from the Gold Rush days. Visitors must see this historic town because many of the building are the real deal. Walking down the cobblestone streets, one can not only imagine what the town looked like, but actually experience it. Old Town shops are a bit commercial, but to walk around and look at the buildings and signage is a treat for anyone who has never visited a real western town. A good place for a tourist to visit while in Sac. There is the Railroad Museum there as well, so if you are into railroads - visiting this museum is a must.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank claudia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Im happy when I am there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I like to make a loop, deta King, drink on deck look or eats. Then evangelines, 3 story costume mansion. Then off to fanny annes for a jiffy penut butter burger! Parking is a bummer. No validating and its pricey. Sac city will not hesitate to give a ticket. I love it there

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alysiiamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing