We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an unevenful tourist trap”
Review of Old Sacramento

Old Sacramento
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Sacramento Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #6 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic area of restored buildings, museums and novelty shops brings life to the Sacramento waterfront.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“an unevenful tourist trap”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

have not been here in 25 years. main reason was to see the Railroad museum which is world class but Old SAcramento is terribly overrated . this is not the French Quarter. we cannot imagine why anyone would want to live here but we did see lofts. the Sacramento River is not very enticing and even the Delta King was a waste of time touring it. the eateries here are overrrated. worse, you have to walk from the Amtrak Station to old Sacramento. that is outrageous. Kevin Johnson. the Mayor should demand that the Regional Transpotation System have a trolley to take visitors here. but-KJ probably has lost a step or two.sometimes it is interesting to see a place you thought the world of and then to see it 25 years later and realize it is a pure tacky tourist trap.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ira g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    891
    405
    81
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stroll the river”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Quaint area. Interesting shops including toy stores and sweet treats everywhere. Good restaurants.
Walking along the river was my fav..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank flara501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's just fun”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I live near Sacramento but go to Old Town every so often just to wander around and people watch. There are some neat stores (some over priced, some not) and a lot of places for food and drinks. If you haven't checked it out, go roam one day. It's fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbl0nde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun shops and good food, plus a riverboat cruise!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's the place for local night life. Firehouse had great scampi. Lots of diverse shops and restaurants that have been around for a long time.

Dixieland Jazz Festival every summer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tsweetrose2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not for kids”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We took our kids to walk around old Sacramento. The stores were fun, especially the candy stores. They give out free samples of almost everything. The train comes right through, which is great for the kids to watch. There's also an old ferry boat that is in the Sacramento River and has been turned into a hotel. My criticism of the area is that there are a lot of homeless people and old meth addicts standing on the corner and offering advice and handing out pamphlets. I understand the value in helping the homeless and former addicts, but it just doesn't lend itself for a safe feeling, kid friendly environment. I won't be going back with the kids.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing