We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The closest I've gotten to TRUE New York pizza while living in CA”

Giovanni's Old World New York Pizzeria
Ranked #201 of 2,013 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The closest I've gotten to TRUE New York pizza while living in CA”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Let me preface this by saying that I am a native New Yorker who has been living in CA for 10 years.

I have been to Gio's multiple times with others and have always ordered a plain pie, New York size. The pizza is by far the closest I've gotten to true New York pizza while living in CA. Truly yummy by my standards and my non-New Yorker friends who have tried it have loved it.

I have to admit the atmosphere reminds me a bit of home. If you're expecting a fancy restaurant, you'll surely be disappointed. It's a no-frills pizza place with the focus where it should be--on the food! If you don't like the atmosphere, get your pie to-go. All pies are made to order, so expect to wait a little bit, especially for the larger pies. But there's a tv to watch while you wait if you don't have company to converse with.

Take Home Message:
For those of you who genuinely like pizza from places like Pizza Hut, Dominoes, Round Table, Little Cesar's, or are looking for "California" style pizza (like the stuff served at the restaurants with nice atmosphere's) or Chicago's deep crust pizza, you will all be very disappointed simply because this pizza is not what you are accustomed to. However, if you appreciate New York's pizza, you will not be disappointed! If Gio's was closer to where I lived I'd be eating here much more often. Instead I simply make sure I have leftovers to take home.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pomona2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really tasty pizza”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is different than the typical California style pie, thinner and not as loaded. They have some really great combos that you won't get anywhere else. Particularly good is the home-made sausage and red pepper, and the meatballs/ricotta. These are real meatballs not crappy frozen ones, and anyway you can barely get a meatball pizza on the West Coast. They also have beer made to their own recipes by Sudwerk. It really helps when the owner is there. For one, he will make you black and tans and other beer combos. He knows how to do it. And the pizza just comes out better when he is there. But even if he's not it is still way above average.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SactoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good pizza, good prices”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just perfect if the pizza bug nips at your heels; pizza is excellent, prices great. Does lack at attempt at atmosphere, but this is, after all, pizza.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mafac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really good pizza”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I love the pizza and it is close to home so that is a plus. I kind of like the low key atmosphere and self service aspect. It is a bit pricey but you can usually get a coupon. I have found some on the back of my grocery receipts. I actually made my family take me there for my last birthday.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darkbeergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
“not like old times”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

must have changed hands a while back.
burnt crust, very little olive oil. skimpy on cheees and sauce. used to be like a new york pizza, now it tastes awful. fix it or my whole neighborhood goes to roun table.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank paulnewman32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Old World New York Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Old World New York Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing